SWR issue on DC grounded antenna.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZS1JDT

Hi guy's! New to this forum. From my Username, figure I'm a Ham radio operator. I'm no new-be to antennas and radios... very good with those... till today! As I'm going to be a radio / vehicle Marshall at a 4x4 event, I fitted a 29 Mhz radio to my car. I got with the radio a 29 Mhz Magnetic mount antenna... SWR 1.8 or almost 2. horrible... removed my 2 meter antenna from the roof... removed the magnet and mounted the antenna directly on the roof.

I know its a DC ground antenna as you get that typical "short" testing the feed line on the PL259. Without the coil and antenna and testing on the base, perfect. So the PL259 and base is perfect... BUT I still have the high SWR reading... I like under 1.5!

Obviously I started with the whip... going longer and/or shorter. Guess what... the lowest reading I get is 1.8!
Its a decent REVEX SWR meter 1.8 -200 Mhz that I use all the time. If it was possible to "strip" the base, without breaking it, I could have just removed the 2N 130K component... and make the antenna Non DC grounded... or just regular.

In short... Why cant I get that SWR 1:2:1 ? Maybe is a CB antenna? Whip should then just go shorter for 29 Mhz?

Attachments

• Antenna.jpg
    Antenna.jpg
    60 KB · Views: 218
I agree with all the metal clutter possibly making a muck of the readings... but really, an 1.5 to 1 **is not all that bad- what does that translate to-- a <4% reflected power loss ?
I'd (personally) could live nicely with that.
Lauri :)

Last edited by a moderator:

prcguy

The antenna looks like a common 27MHz CB antenna, have you shortened the whip to see if it improves the match? If the antenna was originally tuned to 27Mhz you would have to remove about 6" to work near the 29Mhz range, but do it in small increments to avoid mistakes.