System Discovery Noob

Status
Not open for further replies.

KI5IRE

Premium Subscriber
I am pretty new at discovering news systems to scan that haven't yet been posted in the database but I am really interested in learning how it is done.

When looking for the active frequencies for a system, how is this done? There are so many listed under the ULS listing that I don't know if I need to plug all the frequencies listed in or if doing that could have a negative effect.

Specifically, I am trying to discover a few new local DMR systems. For example, this is one of the ones I am trying to discover. This system IS already active and is not outdated as this is a brand new arena. I've only had 1 LCN found so far. ULS License - Industrial/Business Pool, Trunked License - WRCR694 - MULTIPURPOSE ARENA FORT WORTH

I have only been going to the map on the ULS and putting the transmitter frequencies in to my scanner, as shown below.
Screen Shot 2019-04-08 at 2.36.43 PM.png

However I see multiple locations with way more frequencies when I mouse over the circle. Do I need to put these in to the scanner as well? Do I need to try to find LCNs for all of these? Will putting all of them in either negatively or positively effect the programming?
Screen Shot 2019-04-08 at 2.37.00 PM.png

rattlerbb01

TX/LA Database Admin
Database Admin
Location 1 should be the 5 possible transmitter frequencies for the DMR system. Those are the LCNs you are looking for and where you focus your efforts.

Location 2 is just the 5 pairs in mobile/portable form to allow user radios to be licensed.

Location 3 is the repeater inputs from the fixed base.

Location 4 is likely direct, non repeated portable channels that can either be for normal ops or chit chat, or serve as a backup to the system should it go down during an event. You would have to be very close to the arena to hear these and identify anything on them.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber