TG 310 on Brandmeister Announcement

bill4long

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
751
Location
Earth
Another is not being truthful to hotspot users who sound like crap
Being on a hotspot has absolutely nothing to do with whether someone "sounds like crap" or not if their RX Offset is tuned correctly. I'm on DMR all day long, and this is not common.

having a 20 minute qso full of repeats, with only 2 minutes worth of real content. But, that does leave about 18 minutes of conversation just to repeat the very next day!
What they talk about is their business.

We can also save resources in the same manner by being truthful to the cross-mode operations that also sound like CRAP.
Using cross-mode has absolutely nothing to do with whether someone "sounds like crap" or not.
 
Last edited:

bill4long

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
751
Location
Earth
My disappointment with dmr is not really the technology or even the networks, but the lack of basic training in this area. Unless one understands the two points above as a starting point, dmr has turned away from a radio aspect into more of a phone-freaking hobby.
There are some networks out there that don't allow hotspots and/or don't have the ability for hotspots to connect to them. You might try looking in that direction.
 

bill4long

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
751
Location
Earth
310 is only one talkgroup. There are hundreds of other talkgroups that you can try. But if you still want to monitor TAC310 there is still a way to do it. Change to DMR Plus and select one of the servers such as IPSC2-CANTRBO. Using that server you can have continuous access to TAC310 and not need to keep keying your mic to keep the talkgroup alive. However if you are interested in trying a busy talkgroup on Brandmeister, try World Wide 91. There is enough activity there that should keep you occupied. Often so much that you can't even disconnect because you can't get enough time between transmissions to be able to send the disconnect command.
Most people I know have started using 91 and/or 3100. The shakeup doesn't seem to have affected much of anything.
 

kayn1n32008

Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
5,637
Location
In the \'patch
There are some networks out there that don't allow hotspots and/or don't have the ability for hotspots to connect to them. You might try looking in that direction.
This. This is exactly what a group of folks near me are doing. Private network, with out being connected to anything else.
 

chilenet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
6
310 is only one talkgroup. There are hundreds of other talkgroups that you can try. But if you still want to monitor TAC310 there is still a way to do it. Change to DMR Plus and select one of the servers such as IPSC2-CANTRBO. Using that server you can have continuous access to TAC310 and not need to keep keying your mic to keep the talkgroup alive. However if you are interested in trying a busy talkgroup on Brandmeister, try World Wide 91. There is enough activity there that should keep you occupied. Often so much that you can't even disconnect because you can't get enough time between transmissions to be able to send the disconnect command.
Thank you. I think I'm over it now and on to 3100. I'll try 91 too! Thanks EdmontonFireRadio and bill4long
 

WX4JCW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
2,401
Location
All Over USA
TBH my DMR stuff has been unused for a while, maybe i will dust it off after the drama gets settled
 

hitechRadio

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
407
Someone kept saying that TAC310 was in part removed because of PA finals going out????

Sorry, but that is no ones fault but the repeater owner's for not using 100% duty cycle on DMR!
 

N4GIX

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 27, 2015
Messages
1,902
Location
Hammond, IN
Someone kept saying that TAC310 was in part removed because of PA finals going out????

Sorry, but that is no ones fault but the repeater owner's for not using 100% duty cycle on DMR!
A top of the line Motorola SLR5700 repeater is rated for 100% duty cycle. Even those have suffered from blown finals after several HOURS of continuous key down..
 

hitechRadio

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
407
A top of the line Motorola SLR5700 repeater is rated for 100% duty cycle. Even those have suffered from blown finals after several HOURS of continuous key down..
I find that highly unlikely.
We have SLR5700 repeaters in use commercially and are keyed 24/7 with no issues at full power.

We even have one XPR8400 running continuous with no issues. Although at about 75% of its rated full power.

Don't put blame on the users of TAC310. It was not the users of TAC310 or any other busy talk group that caused a repeater failure.
TAC310 did not go away due to repeater owners PA's blowing up (supposedly). TAC 310 went away because it is a TAC channel.
If designed correctly a 100% duty cycle transmitter will have no issues with being keyed 100% of the time. It almost sounds like the repeater owner is looking for someone to blame, when no one to blame but themselves.
 

kayn1n32008

Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
5,637
Location
In the \'patch
A top of the line Motorola SLR5700 repeater is rated for 100% duty cycle. Even those have suffered from blown finals after several HOURS of continuous key down..
Even a SLR-5700 should only be used as an exciter(at what ever the minimum output it can do) to drive an external PA. Why would anyone want to run a repeater at its max out put is beyond me.
 

N4GIX

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 27, 2015
Messages
1,902
Location
Hammond, IN
Don't put blame on the users of TAC310. It was not the users of TAC310 or any other busy talk group that caused a repeater failure.
TAC310 did not go away due to repeater owners PA's blowing up (supposedly). TAC 310 went away because it is a TAC channel.
If designed correctly a 100% duty cycle transmitter will have no issues with being keyed 100% of the time. It almost sounds like the repeater owner is looking for someone to blame, when no one to blame but themselves.
TAC310 hasn't "gone" anywhere. It's still available, albeit only as a dynamic PTTA group. The chief problem arose because too many C-Bridge owners had the various TAC and UA groups configured as full time TGs.
 
Top