TGRP Not Working In New Pro-106

Status
Not open for further replies.

infohou

Hello Folks,

First of all let me say that I would like to understand how to do this without software. I am a Mac and Linux guy and not particularly interested in Windows software in order to program the scanner. Also, even the Easy manual could use examples.

So, I have attempted to program in the Harris County Regional Radio System with the talkgroup for Houston Police. When scanning the TGRP the radio does not stop on anything. If I manually enter the 860.23750 control channel I cannot hear anything. Tried at least one other with not success. I tried FM, au, etc. Type II SmartZone should be 800/900?

Anybody in Harris County/Houston TX that wants to help?

Thanks,
Robert A. Ober
PS: I am an IT consultant and considered to have above average intelligence.

sjlamb

Helpful responses are going to require much more information. For starters:

(1) The Harris County Regional Radio System covers a (9) County area and has (25) Tower Sites. What County do you live in and which Sites have you programmed into your scanner?

Harris County Regional Radio System (Motorola) Trunking System, Metro Houston area, Texas - Scanner Frequencies

(2) How far are you from the closest tower site to your location? Are you using an outdoor antenna? Are you listening at ground level? If, after programming all Control and Alternate Controls channels for a particular tower site, you cannot hear control channel data bursts on any of those channels; you are probably too far away from that tower to receive. Typical range on an 800 mHz. trunked system is 15-25 miles from the tower. The "All Purpose-All Band" antenna that came with your radio will not receive an 800 mHz system nearly as well as an antenna tuned specifically for 800 systems or, even better, an external antenna mounted as high as possible.