Thank you RR community for helping a total newbie!

Status
Not open for further replies.

hexagon_keyhole

Premium Subscriber
Hello, just wanted to drop a line and thank everyone in the Radio Reference Community!

I've been on the fence about buying my first ever scanner, but I was able to snag a BCD436HP from Amazon when they had it for $368...plus the additional cost of waiting a month and a half for delivery. I took the forced wait time to read the forum and learn. By the time Amazon finally shipped, I already knew how to turn on the scanner, perform the updates, and with the insights of RR have a well thought out plan as to how I was going to organize my scanning/favorites list(s).

I hope to be able to contribute something from everything that I have learned here. I know, I will trigger some folks when I say that my BCD436HP is working fine in my simulcast area. I learned so much from RR about distance from broadcast site factors, mitigation factors, and P25 decode adjustment and was very fortunate that I didn't have do do any Yagi antenna pointing or P25 adjustments because of my location.

That being said, I'm trying really hard to talk myself out of a SDS100/200 when my BCD436HP is working perfectly :)

trentbob

W3BUX- Bucks County, PA
Premium Subscriber
Welcome to RR. Congratulations on your new scanner

This is a great forum for you. Don't hesitate to ask any questions.

You probably will end up buying an SDS eventually, just for the display alone LOL.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Looking at your past post, it appears that you are in the Sacramento area.

If you are monitoring this system.
I see more than one of the sites are flagged as simulcast. But if, at your location, you do not appear to be missing calls or get garbled transmissions, then you may not be affected.