Thoughts on mounting 2m/70cm antenna upside down?

JMSchlus

I was a tower site manager long, long ago. When two way radio was the only way to communicate with your vehicles on the road and tower antenna space was tight. We would double up the antennas on the side arms. Making more tower space rental money in the process. Vertical polarization is vertical polarization no matter which way you hang the antenna. But you do loose the few feet of antenna height on the arm when you hang it from the bottom, so that is probably why you don’t see it so much anymore as most sites are ghost towns now as far as two way radio and any one still shelling out for space on a tower for a repeater is going to want those few extra feet of height to gain a few extra feet of coverage.

paulears

You can put a dipole upside down, but have you ever looked at the radiation diagrams? Vertically polarisation is NOT even around the horizontal axis! In fact, the lobe of the main takeoff angle changes between models, some designed to hug the horizon, others designed to cover a wider beam width for local topography. In fact, there are also downwards radiating antenna, designed to concentrate output locally like on top of a factory with a central high point. Excellent factory coverage, but minimal spread outside the local area. Look at the radiation pattern for these, they had to change the graphs. You could hang a quarter wave vertical upside down and this would do the same thing. This is simply physics. Balanced antennas like dipoles have lobes above and below horizontal and are symmetrical, end fed dipoles are not. Their horizontal plots are anything but symetrical.

JMSchlus