• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

TK-5220 HT with KMC-47GPS Mic - it sends but nobody receives

Status
Not open for further replies.

KC7JKJ

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
4
I'm new to this website and these forums are great. Just from reading several posts here I've finally gotten my TK-5220 to send the position data from the GPS mic, but I can't get the other radio to receive it yet. I'm testing with these two radios for now, then when I get it figured out, I'll program the other 9 in the group.

It must be something I'm missing in the software (KPG-112D) for programming the radios, or do these radios just not receive each others position data like I'm hoping. These radios are for our Search and Rescue group, but I hope to expand the knowledge to our Sheriff's Dept.

Any help or suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Charles Sparke
Pershing Search and Rescue, NV
 

ramal121

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,636
Location
Sonoma, CA
I'm messing around with GPS on the NX-200/NX-700 line. It doesn't appear you can send GPS data to other radios for display. You will need to assign a target radio to receive the GPS data in software. The target radio will in turn spit out serial data through a com port to an external mapping program or whatever.

The only thing I can do is program a button for GPS and see the location of that radio.

If anybody knows how to do what you're asking, I'd like to hear about it also...
 

KC7JKJ

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
4
Me thinks you must be right. I just tried programming "ALL" in as the target radio and tried to send. The receive radio "hears" the signal (squelch is broken and the receive LED lights up), but nothing is displayed either on the position display screen or the main screen.

I have just ordered the KAS-10 Fleetsync software so hopefully that should help clear this up and finally validate what you posted as the final answer. I think we both hope you are mistaken, but I'm afraid you are correct.
 

ramal121

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,636
Location
Sonoma, CA
I guess it's all how the firmware is written and how the radio operates. Most Fleetsync ops require an ack, so you dial in a individual radio or use a default target radio to send data. A plain GPS blip is a broadcast only and doesn't require an ack. You would think then it would be easy to pick that up and put it on every radios display, but if that option is not available it's, well, not available.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
10,904
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
gps data can only be sent to 1 radio and that radio has to connected to kas-10 or similar
Right, that is what it was intended for. Sending latitude and longitude to an LCD display isn't very useful. Sending it to a computer where it can be displayed on a map for a dispatcher is useful.

What you would need to do if you wanted to make this work is connect to the comm port pins on the mic connector on the portables, or the DB-25 on the back of the mobiles and have a display that would do something with it. You would need to set up the comm port correctly on all radios, and program the sending radios to send to all the other units.
 

ki4gyw

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
0
Location
West TN
I still plan on writing software for the gps into the GIS map server its just been put on the backburner. I'm fixing to get a start on it though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top