• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

TK 790 mobile wiring

midstate33

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2006
Messages
34
Location
Gassaway, WV
I am trying to get a Kenwood KMC 30 mic to wire
to the DB 25 connector on rear of TK790, have
PTT but no voice anyone who has been successful
with this I would greatly appreciate any help
Tnx W8WAR
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
18,861
Location
LATA 722
I don't have my software here, but you should need to set up the Mic Input to use the port. On the newer radios theres a page for this on the KPG that lets you assign the rear mic input for data or voice.
 

n7maq-1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
106
Location
Oregon
You need to move R641 to R640 for mic audio.

1658359098410.png

1658359150129.png

MI/DI (MIC Signal Input/Output or Data Audio Input)
This pin has one of the two functions listed in Table 3 by
setting jumper resistors (0 ohm) R640 and R641 on the
control unit (X57-561 B/3) (Refer to page 21).
1) MIC signal input/output
This pin is directly connected to the MIC input pin of the
transceiver, so it has the same function as the MIC input
pin. When the input is 5mV/3 kHz, DEV (600 ohms)
modulation is obtained. The MIC input is output from the
transceiver panel as it is.
2) Data audio input
The signal from this pin passes through the LPF (fc: about
10kHz), is summed with the MIC AMP output, and goes
to the modulator. Therefore, it is not preemphasized.
 

midstate33

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2006
Messages
34
Location
Gassaway, WV
Ok guys really appreciate the answers/help but I have tried the things you suggested, I should have added that by applying signal from function generator and keying mic I have good transmitted audio, I also applied dc voltage to appropriate pin on KMC 30 powering the electret in mic (?) I believe there is a switching problem in the mic circuit preventing audio getting to db25 mic input pin, the KMC 30 works just fine on tk7180, really got me stumped, any help is appreciated, tnx 73’s
W8WAR
 

ramal121

Lots and lots of watts
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,873
Location
Calif Whine Country
So you did switch/confirm the internal jumpers? If the radio is set for data you can still pump audio in but at a much higher level than the mic element will ever produce. Input absolutely needs to be set for "MI".

The grounds for PTT and the mic element are separate and you need to connect both. Pin 3 "E" and pin 5 "MIC-E" need to go to the respective pins on the 790 25 pin connector.
 

midstate33

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2006
Messages
34
Location
Gassaway, WV
You need to move R641 to R640 for mic audio.

View attachment 124707

View attachment 124708

MI/DI (MIC Signal Input/Output or Data Audio Input)
This pin has one of the two functions listed in Table 3 by
setting jumper resistors (0 ohm) R640 and R641 on the
control unit (X57-561 B/3) (Refer to page 21).
1) MIC signal input/output
This pin is directly connected to the MIC input pin of the
transceiver, so it has the same function as the MIC input
pin. When the input is 5mV/3 kHz, DEV (600 ohms)
modulation is obtained. The MIC input is output from the
transceiver panel as it is.
2) Data audio input
The signal from this pin passes through the LPF (fc: about
10kHz), is summed with the MIC AMP output, and goes
to the modulator. Therefore, it is not preemphasized.
Done
 

ramal121

Lots and lots of watts
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,873
Location
Calif Whine Country
A certain sheriffs office wanted a second mic on the passenger door so they can stand up out of traffic and use the radio. 790's with KMC35. Installed lots. Any Kenwood mic should work.
 
Top