• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

TK-790 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snakedoc84

Member
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
24
Hello,
I'm new to RadioReference, but have read a lot of forums before becoming a member, always got lots of good information. Ok now to business, I would like to pick your brains out there. I bought a TK-790 off the internet, and its been good after finally getting it programmed, but I'm having issues with others barely being able to hear me when transmitting. I have bought a new KMC-27 MIC and still the same issue. I have checked the programming to make sure I have not turned on the PTT MIC Mute. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
 

mrweather

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
991
Sounds like you need to adjust the deviation of your transmitted audio as it's too low. This is something that should be done using proper equipment.
 

Snakedoc84

Member
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
24
What equipment would that be? Is this something I could do myself? There are not Kenwood dealers or repair shops in my area. Thanks.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
13,866
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
Could be that your radio is set to narrow band deviation and the other radios are set to wide band. Are you using this for commercial/public safety, or for Amateur use?
 

Snakedoc84

Member
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
24
mmckenna,
I do in fact have the radio set to narrowband, but the other radio's im talking to are also narrowbanded. The radio is used for business/public safety use.
 

ramal121

Lots and lots of watts
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,744
Location
Sonoma, CA
Mic line into the 790 is pretty straightforward. I believe the only gotcha in programming is the Mic mute which you have covered.

I have seen this radio get mysteriously zapped and ruin tuning parameters. You could go into "test mode" and check to see if the deviation setting has gone to zero. If it has, well there's your problem. DO NOT attempt to adjust it by feel. It'll require test equipment to set properly. You can really foul it up and go out of FCC specs if you guess at it.

Also, do you have any auxiliary equipment connected to the accessory port of either the radio or the head? If you do try disconnecting to see if the mic audio comes back up.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
 

mrweather

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
991
Sorry if this sounds a little soap-box'ish but if this radio is for public safety, don't monkey around with the settings. Get it serviced by a proper technician.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top