• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

TK3140 and fire tone outs?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Messages
96
Hello all. I'm having mountains of trouble trying to get my TK 3140 to alert to fire tones. I have check all the settings, and I know I have the tone frequencies correct, Yet I still can't get it to sound an audible alert to the tones.

Any suggestions?
 

code3cowboy

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
636
Location
CA
Are you sending short tones or anything other than a 1sec-3sec sequence?

Do you have the option signal set too 2 tone X on main screen?

Is your alert tone set properly in the edit>optional features>optional features 2 tab?

Is your rx frequency set properly?
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Messages
96
All of that stuff is set correctly. Now what exactly does this alert sound like? Does the screen light up, or does it just sound an audible alert?

I've had a VX 180U alert, but never a kenwood, so I don't know what to look for.

Are you sending short tones or anything other than a 1sec-3sec sequence?

Do you have the option signal set too 2 tone X on main screen?

Is your alert tone set properly in the edit>optional features>optional features 2 tab?

Is your rx frequency set properly?
 

powerlineman

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
120
Are you talking about receiving the tones? As in using your radio as a pager? If so look under optional features, signalling, and select "AND" assuming you have the correct tones programmed and the decode format correct.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Messages
96
iI'm just using it for rx only, So yes, I'm using it like the minitor V that I decided to get rid of.

Are you talking about receiving the tones? As in using your radio as a pager? If so look under optional features, signalling, and select "AND" assuming you have the correct tones programmed and the decode format correct.
 

code3cowboy

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
636
Location
CA
Is this the same one I set up for you? It should beep and the led will flash green and red. Had you told me that I would have set it up as a dedicated pager. You can switch the signaling type to "and" which will unsquelch the receiver only when a call is received.

I do not use any vertex standard products so it is not a ground for comparison.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Messages
96
Is this the same one I set up for you? It should beep and the led will flash green and red. Had you told me that I would have set it up as a dedicated pager. You can switch the signaling type to "and" which will unsquelch the receiver only when a call is received.

I do not use any vertex standard products so it is not a ground for comparison.

Yes it is the one you set up for me. Doesn't seem to be working. Most likely because the tone information I gave you was incorrect. I'm going to see what I can do about getting the correct tone information and see if I can get it to work using the settings that you set up for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top