• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Tone Alert On The Icom F70 Portable

Status
Not open for further replies.

eh2677

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2009
Messages
2
Location
Maine
Do you mean you want to set it up to receive a two-tone signal typically used to set off fire pagers? If so, yes it can. You can set it up to only open the squelch when it hears the two tones and you have different options of making it beep and flash the display screen. I usually make the screen flash and say something like "yourtown has been paged!"
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
The ONLY tone alert iCOM radio I know of is the F60/60V Which is widely used as a Cheap alternative to the Minitor pager. I have a 70D I program it and I've never seen an option for what your asking about.
 

12dbsinad

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,077
Most all icom portables do 2 tone decode. Even the cheap 16 channel ones with no display. Its all in the RSS marked "2 Tone". Pretty straight forward.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
2-tone by icom means 1 tone in and one different tone out. The F70/F70D does not have paging two tone Alert capability. The F50V is the only one which will do this like a minitor pager.
 

12dbsinad

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,077
The F70/F70D does have paging capability. I know this because i own one personally and have that feature enabled. The only thing different about the F50V is you can get a version with the vibrate and voice record feature, the others do not. Unless you have you radio model selected to do 5 Tone, you will not be able to do 2 Tone as well. Otherwise, under model if you select 2 Tone it will function exactly as a pager. If in doubt about it, read the product brochure on the icom website!
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
337
Location
Northern,New York
The F70 will rx Two-Tone. You need will need to go the two tone option and input your tones. This will also be where you will select which type of beep you would like ect.Then you will need to go back to where you put all your ch. info then scroll over to where you see TWO-Tone and select the tones you want to go off on that ch. under RX C NO
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Well that's real interesting. I can be educated, no problem there. I have a F70D and I program the F70D for My Counties Law Enforcement and First responders And I have never seen that this radio supported two tone paging. In Fact my dealer Also has stated that this radio won't support two tone paging. So I will surely try this on My Radio tonight. If this works, you fella's Just saved the Tax Payers of Fannin County Texas a Bunch of money, As we have just purchased 200 Motorola Minitor pagers which we wouldn't need had our Dealer educated me about this.
 

sdetermann

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
16
Location
St. Louis Metro Area
From the Icom brochure:

Multiple 2-Tone, Multiple 5-Tone
Up to 10 2-Tone and 8 5-Tone codes can be
decoded on a single memory channel. This
is perfect for professionals who require multiple
district paging on one channel. When a
matched tone is received, the following
items are programmable for each code.
• Bell icon • Answer back • Stun
• Beep sound • Auto transmit • Scan
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Guy's, I have no problem being wrong. When someone is wrong, and can see that they are wrong then they can be corrected and learn.

I'm 100% serious, I've asked our, Both of our radio distributors about this and Both have said that NO the F70D will not support voice paging (2-tone). Yet every single iCOM I have worked with shows both 2 and 5 tone options in the programing menu.

I apologize for posting on this topic without really knowing the in's and out's. I will sit back and read the HOW TO on this and check my facts before posting again on these matters.

Curious, Will the F121 and F11 also handle 2-tone voice paging?
 

shockhazard69

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 22, 2009
Messages
37
Location
Watertown, NY
Guy's, I have no problem being wrong. When someone is wrong, and can
Curious, Will the F121 and F11 also handle 2-tone voice paging?
F11 does support 3 sets of tones.

F121 does 10 sets of tones.

I have the paging in my radio on 2 different channels, channel 1 is silent until it hears the tones and channel 2 is set up to monitor the paging frequency but won't alert.
 

12dbsinad

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,077
Well that's real interesting. I can be educated, no problem there. I have a F70D and I program the F70D for My Counties Law Enforcement and First responders And I have never seen that this radio supported two tone paging. In Fact my dealer Also has stated that this radio won't support two tone paging. So I will surely try this on My Radio tonight. If this works, you fella's Just saved the Tax Payers of Fannin County Texas a Bunch of money, As we have just purchased 200 Motorola Minitor pagers which we wouldn't need had our Dealer educated me about this.
It'll work! Sorry to hear about your dealer giving out false information. Maybe its just a great way of selling 200 pagers. Who knows. So many people get "screwed" over because of un-honest radio shops its pathetic. Glad to see the site helped you out at any rate! Let me know how things pan out i'd be interested in hearing! Take care...
 

iamhere300

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
1,299
Location
Chappell Hill TX
I'm 100% serious, I've asked our, Both of our radio distributors about this and Both have said that NO the F70D will not support voice paging (2-tone). Yet every single iCOM I have worked with shows both 2 and 5 tone options in the programing menu.

I
Sorry for bringing up an old thread, but you need better radio distributors.

I have sold probably 5-600 F70D's, and yes, they do two tone very well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top