Tone Vs Tone Squelch

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been looking around on the forums to understand this since im new to the game. It was explained like this by a user

"Tone = Transmit PL with carrier squelch (no tone) receive

Tone Squelch = Transmit and receive PL tone"

My question is, are there many repeaters that use a a different PL code between receive and transmit? I have been looking at the repeaters listed and I dont see any that show that. I programmed my radio to receive the same PL code as is required to transmit to the repeater. Should I have any issues? It seemed to work because when I transmitted the repeater transmitted its FCC call sign back to me. This may seem like obvious questions but this is my first radio so bear with me.

W8VFD

Feed Provider
My question is, are there many repeaters that use a a different PL code between receive and transmit?

It's at the discretion of who operates the repeater, I've seen people run "split PL" on both ham radio repeaters and public safety systems, the reasons can vary from user to user.

N4GIX

Premium Subscriber
I usually run my receiver CSQ so I don't have to worry about monitoring to see if the repeater is in use already.

WA0CBW

You may also find that some repeaters require a tone to access but don't transmit a tone. For those repeaters you need to change to carrier squelch on your radio (i.e. no tone).
BB

SCPD

QRT
You may also find that some repeaters require a tone to access but don't transmit a tone. For those repeaters you need to change to carrier squelch on your radio (i.e. no tone).
BB

I've run into this on a couple of occasions and it places some users who might be in a noisy area requiring tone squelch at a disadvantage.

I don't see any logic to it at all and find it unusual and inconvenient.