Travel Calgary to Cranbrook via HWY 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heidi750

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
273
Location
Kimberley, BC
Over the Summer I have travelled from Calgary to Cranbrook via the Crowsnest ...

Most of the Threads here have been from Alberta and so I'm wondering if there is anybody from BC following any of these threads and can help out? I am interested in the East Kootenay area.
I have a few frequencies with the PL tones to share ... and ask if you can check or confirm them.

NEW PL: 139.5600 (139.5625) Sparwood RCMP F with PL 123.0
NEW PL: 169.4850 Sparwood Fire with PL 103.5
NEW PL: 139.500 Fernie RCMP F with PL 123.0 (Same as Sparwood)
UNKNOWN: 163.025 Fernie FIRE? with PL 100.0
SAME: 139.410 (139.4125) Kimberley RCMP B2 same PL 123.0
Cranbrook Fire Paging In 152.210 PL 123.0 ?
Cranbrook Fire Paging Out 151.535 PL 100.0 ?
EMS 149.680 with PL 100.0 (possible In RPTR A 149.110)

Radio Tower Station on Mt Baker (Just South of Cranbrook)
414.1625 Link RCMP???
414.7875 Link RCMP???
413.6125 Link ???
Confirmed: 413.6125 Fire Centre (Forestry)
142.150 PL 123.0 (Heard on top of Mt Baker)???


Confirmed: Cranbrook RCMP B2 with PL 123.0 & C3 with PL 107.2
Confirmed: Jaffray Fire 150.860 with PL 100.0
149.495 SAR Kimberley/Cranbrook/PEP??? PL 110.9

Can anyone Confirm or Add to this List?
Thanks
 

Jay911

.
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,293
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
Your VHF frequencies that end in 25/75 (i.e. 139.4125) are incorrect. Canada doesn't use that band plan; the US (and radios built for sale in the US) does. You've listed the correct frequencies prior to the incorrect one (i.e. 139.41 is correct).

You would be well advised to submit these findings to the DB so that others can enjoy them.
 

DX-300

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
292
Location
Alberta, Canada
I'm in the area, and I will be for a few days, I can confirm these over the next few days hopefully :)) I recall one of the services has switched over to DMR or NXDN in Cranbrook as well. I was in Nelson during the past week and I can confirm ALL of the R.C.M.P. repeaters in the area are now P25 Encrypted :( I can understand for safety etc. but for us scanner users enjoying the hobby it's still kind of a bummer but I'll save the rest of my rant on that for another part of the forums lol :p.
 

dwc

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
133
Location
Vancouver, BC
Yeah most of the BC'ers have been posting on the ScanBC forums since 2003...

Nelson area RCMP is all digital. So is Nelson City PD. Nelson Fire went DMR.

I guess with all of the dope growers they had to lock things down. *grin*

Some Cranbrook stuff documented here by a local a few years ago;

Cranbrook, British Columbia - ScanBC
Nelson, British Columbia - ScanBC

More here in this thread;

www.scanbc.com • View topic - RCMP Interior Freqs

It's difficult to confirm some of this not being in the area which is why a lot have not been ported into RR db.

Cheers,
 

DX-300

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
292
Location
Alberta, Canada
I would like to share that Radium has something that's oddball compared to other areas in the province of BC, they have an R.C.M.P. repeater here on 148.1950 as opposed to using that channel simplex.
 

DX-300

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
292
Location
Alberta, Canada
I'm in Cranbrook at the moment and I have been able to confirm the following: 139.4100 RCMP Repeater B confirmed, 414.1625 link to RCMP repeater B Confirmed, Fire Dispatch 151.8200 DMR confirmed.
 

DX-300

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
292
Location
Alberta, Canada
Well, you had a good hunch harryshute it turns out it is the link for an apparent "Repeater G" 139.5300 Swansea, which comes in weaker on my side of Radium here than that link. I'll be submitting all of my findings later. :)
 

HDMechanic

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
362
Location
Calgary Alberta
It is more than likely a RPTR which is linked into RPTR G. I know on the in the Nakusp area they had to set one up their to give the members full coverage in waek areas and dead spots.
 

harryshute

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
1,725
Location
Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA
My guess is still a link. Try the other half of the pair 141.450 to see what you hear there. It's always great when the link is stronger than the repeater you are trying to hear.
Do they still work out of the old Radium detachment building? I guess it could be a BSR or Base Station repeater which allows portable use inside a detachment that is a distance from the repeater.
 

dwc

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
133
Location
Vancouver, BC
Yeah in BC it is not uncommon for them to install a low-power, low-level repeater to cover a specific area / town. A VHF RCMP link would be a first in my books if it is true.
 

harryshute

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
1,725
Location
Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA
I had to dig a bit but I found out. It is or was called Vehicle RPTR. In Alberta is became to expensive to put car repeaters in every car so they started installing them in static points like detachments and other weak reception areas. Sounds like they did the same in B.C. It is in slot "R" of the radio.

There are also two Slave Repeaters in the Interior radio. "X" which is Slave 1 transmits on 141.720 and the input is 141.090. Slave 2 is Channel "Y" Transmits on 141.660 and input is 141.150. There were no PL's at the time of this document.
 

Heidi750

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
273
Location
Kimberley, BC
Offset ?

Quick question ...
Is there a standard offset for the VHF frequencies ... or am I missing something?



My guess is still a link. Try the other half of the pair 141.450 to see what you hear there. It's always great when the link is stronger than the repeater you are trying to hear.
Do they still work out of the old Radium detachment building? I guess it could be a BSR or Base Station repeater which allows portable use inside a detachment that is a distance from the repeater.
 

kayn1n32008

ØÆS, I put that shØt on everything.
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
6,175
Location
Sector 001
Quick question ...

Is there a standard offset for the VHF frequencies ... or am I missing something?

Nope. You get what ever IC assigned you, this even hold true on UHF. A friend of mine got a rather odd non 5MHz pair for his UHF LMR repeater(46x.xxxx paired with 45x.xxxx)


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top