Trouble setting up my RS pro 97 for morris county mirs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roveer

Let me start by saying I'm new to trunking. My previous scanner experience was putting 39.020 into a channel and then listening...

I'm trying to set up my RS Pro-97 trunking scanner for the Morris County Mirs system to receive Mendham Fire and Police.

I've got all the freq's from the database.

I start with my scanner freshly initialized (totally erased)

I follow the "easy to read" manual for for the pro-97 which tells me to put the freq's in to channels in a bank, set them to MOT

So I put all the channels from the database for my "zone" on mirs into a bank starting with bank0 and filling channels 0-8 (9 channels total) I set them all to MOT:none

I don't do anything for fleet groups. I've read that it's S0 and the scanner defaults to S0. Problem here?

I notice in the database that there are listings for base frequency, offset, and space so I put those in following the guide.

I've put it TG's following the guide

When I hit scan. I NEVER hear any transmissions. I know I've got control channels because if I manually scan to them I see the data % go to 99, I hear the data etc.

The only thing that breaks the squelch is occasionally I hear a data burst on one of the VC's

What the heck am I doing wrong?

I'll admit, this is quite a bit different than the old days, but I'm following all the instructions and I've yet to hear a voice.

Ideas? Am I too old? Should I work on getting the VCR to stop flashing 12:00?

Roveer

DannB

Premium Subscriber
Did you remember to input the upper base freq. Also ??
is this what you used for the custom band plan

Band Plan 1=Lower Base 471.0000 Upper base 472.7375 spacing 12.5 offset 380
Band Plan 2=Lower Base 476.0000 Upper base 478.9875 spacing 12.5 offset 520

and are you programming this into a digital capable scanner??

Last edited:

Highpockets