trunking

Status
Not open for further replies.

tidnab

Member
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
8
Location
jackson,ms
I can not understand the setup for trunking.. I have manual but can not comprehend.. Could someone help me
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,259
Location
Bowie, Md.
Before anyone can help you, we need to know what scanner you are using, what software (if any) you have and most importantly, what system you are trying to program. Go up to the blue toolbar under the site title that says 'DATABASE', float your mouse over it, and select 'Frequency Database'. Use the various pulldowns and map to get to your area. C'mon back with the URL for the system you want to program and there are folks here that will help get you started

The devil is quite literally in the details - the more you provide, the better the quality of the answers

best regards..Mike
 

tidnab

Member
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
8
Location
jackson,ms
pro 163 motorola trunking manual does not go into detail tells you to press this but does not tell you how to get to this example: prog-trunk-up and down keys to select bank-as far as it goes-can not go any farther
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,069
TRUNKING PROGRAMMING - PRO-163 & 164

To program a Bank for TRUNKING:
1. Press PROG, then press TRUNK.
2. Press FUNC, then use an UP or DOWN ARROW to select a bank.
3. Repeatedly press MODE to select a trunking mode (Motorola).
4. Press PROG.
5. Enter the first control channel freq. and press ENTER.
6. Repeatedly press MODE to select a trunking mode (Motorola).
7. Press PROG or the UP ARROW to advance to the next channel.
8. Enter the next control channel freq. and press ENTER.
9. Repeatedly press MODE to select a trunking mode (Motorola).
10. After the last control channel freq., press ENTER, then press SCAN.
Now you should start to see all active Talk Group IDs (TGs).

There are two trunking modes, OPEN and CLOSED:
OPEN lets you hear ALL active TGs
CLOSED lets you hear ONLY the TGs you have put into the SUB-BANKS.
“–” appears for CLOSED mode and “+” appears for OPEN mode under the channel number.
To set OPEN or CLOSED mode for the bank that is ON, Press FUNC then ./DELAY.
To set OPEN or CLOSED mode for another bank:
1. Press MAN.
2. Use the UP or DOWN ARROW to select a bank.
3. Press FUNC then •/DELAY.

PROGRAMMING the Sub-Banks (Saving Talk Group IDs)
Each of the 10 banks contains 5 sub-banks that each hold 30 Talk Group IDs.
To define a Talk Group ID:
1. Press PROG, then press TRUNK to enter the ID program mode.
2. Press FUNC, then use UP or DOWN ARROW to select a bank.
3. Repeatedly press MODE to select a trunking mode (Motorola,
EDACS, or LTR).
4. Repeatedly press TRUNK to select the sub-bank.
5. Press UP or DOWN ARROW to select the location where to store the Talk
Group ID.
6. Use the number keys to enter the Talk Group ID:
7. Press ENT.

Turning Sub-Banks ON or OFF
To turn off a sub-bank:
1. Press TRUNK repeatedly to select the desired sub-bank.
2. Press FUNC then 1 to turn the sub-bank on or off.
To turn off a sub-bank while scanning:
1. When the scanner stops on a transmission, press FUNC.
2. Press TRUNK. The display indicates which sub-bank is turned
on or off. The active sub-bank number appears.
3. Press FUNC and the number of the sub-bank you desire to
turn on or off. For example to turn sub-bank 4 on or off, press
FUNC. Then press 4.
Note: This function activates when the receiving channel
bank is in CLOSED mode.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,259
Location
Bowie, Md.
Nicely done, Dick. Perhaps I can persuade you to write that up as a wiki article for a programming shortcut - it would make a nice tribute to Frank who recently passed and wrote most of those shortcut articles we now have

Mike
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,069
Nicely done, Dick. Perhaps I can persuade you to write that up as a wiki article for a programming shortcut - it would make a nice tribute to Frank who recently passed and wrote most of those shortcut articles we now have

Mike
Thanks Mike. Please feel free to put it into the WIKI.
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,069
I have programmed a channel...no response from scanning..silence
1) You still did not say which system you want to monitor.
2) If it's the Jackson county trunked system you need to put in the 4 control channels, not just one freq.
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,069
Motorola..have entered 4 control freq. get response on manual none scanning
If you selected MOtorola mode and entered the freqs. correctly, then did STEP 10 correctly it should work.
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,069
I believe Dick was referring to step 10 in the first group of instructions in his post up above, not the manual.
That's right Steve. Since he complained about the manual not having good info. I sent step-by-step instructions, basically copied from the manual. He can't have it both ways - oh, he has it both ways and is still confused. Now I'm confused. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top