TRX-1 Spectrum Sweeper

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheGman994

Newbie
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Messages
4
Location
Miami, Fl
Hi guys, I am also looking for the solution to this problem of the spectrum sweeper for the Whistler scanners. I currently have a new WS1080 and looks like the problem not isolated to just the TRX-1. I do belive its a firmware issue. I currently have CPU-3.5 and DSP-2.2 (All Current Up To Date) installed on my scanner. Before that update the spectrum sweeper worked like the PSR-800 does but after those updates, the sweeper does not operate as it should. Hopefully someone finds a solution.
 

markgrutz

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
124
Location
Ellicott City, Maryland
Hi guys, I am also looking for the solution to this problem of the spectrum sweeper for the Whistler scanners. I currently have a new WS1080 and looks like the problem not isolated to just the TRX-1. I do belive its a firmware issue. I currently have CPU-3.5 and DSP-2.2 (All Current Up To Date) installed on my scanner. Before that update the spectrum sweeper worked like the PSR-800 does but after those updates, the sweeper does not operate as it should. Hopefully someone finds a solution.
I'd bet that someone changed a line or two of code to "fix" something and that the sweeper referenced that same code. I have done it before with programming, but maybe with this extra info they can track what and where the change was and fix it.

Mark
 

prcguy

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
9,093
Location
So Cal - Richardson, TX - Tewksbury, MA
At this point only Whistler can find and offer the solution.
prcguy


Hi guys, I am also looking for the solution to this problem of the spectrum sweeper for the Whistler scanners. I currently have a new WS1080 and looks like the problem not isolated to just the TRX-1. I do belive its a firmware issue. I currently have CPU-3.5 and DSP-2.2 (All Current Up To Date) installed on my scanner. Before that update the spectrum sweeper worked like the PSR-800 does but after those updates, the sweeper does not operate as it should. Hopefully someone finds a solution.
 

del1964

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
655
Location
Southern, IN
Fingers crossed on a fix too.

I'm Seriously considering buying one of these Whistler TRX-1's and that's definitely an important feature (Spectrum Sweeper & DMR) to have in my consideration between it and a Uniden model. Interesting reading the threads here between the two competing brands to say the least. I've always owned Uniden scanners but.......
 

TheGman994

Newbie
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Messages
4
Location
Miami, Fl
I'm Seriously considering buying one of these Whistler TRX-1's and that's definitely an important feature (Spectrum Sweeper & DMR) to have in my consideration between it and a Uniden model. Interesting reading the threads here between the two competing brands to say the least. I've always owned Uniden scanners but.......
Well thats one of the 3 reasons I bought a Whistler scanner BUT unfortunately, now one of them is crippled. WHISTLER lets get the game moving and lets fix this!! :D
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
Hate to be the one to say this but .. the Uniden close call is infinitely better than Spectrum Sweeper. I would seriously consider buying a cheap Uniden just for this feature if this is your thing.
 

kikito

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,539
Location
North Pole, Alaska
Hate to be the one to say this but .. the Uniden close call is infinitely better than Spectrum Sweeper.
It depends on what you want/need/expect from such features.

Uniden's Close Call has the advantages of being able to be used in conjunction with scanning all the time. It also picks up nearby transmissions much quicker than the Spectrum Sweeper.

However, the Spectrum Sweeper definitely picks up lots more and from much farther away from the transmission source. At least that's my experience.
 

eddie8965

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
86
Location
Hamilton Co. Illinois
My 1080 is the same...sweeper doesn't stop ,but the signal level meter is at full bars....I can see it flashing....haven't done the update on the 1095,and its working fine
 

eddie8965

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
86
Location
Hamilton Co. Illinois
One of the reason I keep buying whistler products...they work...im hoping it a small firmware issue...and ill hang on to my money and see how quick(if)this gets resolved before I order the trx-2 I've been drooling over it for 2 weeks...almost bought one this morning
..
 

eddie8965

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
86
Location
Hamilton Co. Illinois
I downgraded cpu firmware to 2.8 and now spectrum sweeper and priority both work,so I know I either got a glitch when updating,or theres a bug...I got my 1080 back !!
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
firmware!

I downgraded cpu firmware to 2.8 and now spectrum sweeper and priority both work,so I know I either got a glitch when updating,or theres a bug...I got my 1080 back !!

There you go Wendy,it IS the Firmware,like I told the Whistler techs.I had the 1080 and the spectrum sweeper did work,so something with the new fimrwares are making it not work or stop on any frequency,close or far away.When I got the TRX-1 I immediately upgraded the firmware for DMR decode.
 

eddie8965

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
86
Location
Hamilton Co. Illinois
Yep i went back to the website and got the previous firmware...loaded,it....and all is good now,i also noticed with the new firmware,that the menu was a little different...the add new conventional frequency was in a different place...and probably a few other things I didn't notice
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
5,723
Location
Ontario, Canada
I've confirmed it's also not working on my WS-1088. The search slows down over the active frequency... but that's it.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
I called them today and told the rep who is forwarding my info to the engineering department,I also mentioned the WS1098.I have the TRX-1.Hope this million dollar radio gets its fix!
 

kikito

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,539
Location
North Pole, Alaska
Go get the updates while they're hot! Spectrum Sweeper seems to be working again with the latest firmware! Among several other goodies/fixes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top