Trying to listen to Bellevue traffic, I think I'm missing something

Status
Not open for further replies.

WithinRafael

Premium Subscriber
Hi folks!

Forewarning: I'm new to all this but getting the hang of things.

I have a BCD396XT and with the Northwest Frequency Directory and Radio Reference Database, I was able to program the device to receive from the KCERS system. I'm particularly interested in local Bellevue police, medical, and fire traffic so programmed in the EPSCA Simulcast, King County/Valley Comm Simulcast, and for kicks the Seattle Simulcast sites. Running through an ID Search seems to indicate my control channels and band programming are good as I get flooded with tons of conversations. (I also used FreeScan to pull from the Radio Reference db and validate my work.) I went through the rebanding procedure, too.

So, I decided to narrow things down and created a single group of what I thought were the relevant TGIDs for my area. Specifically, I selected:

Code:
Display		TGID	AudioType
Fire Admin	21680	Analog/Digital
Police Disp 1	21424	Analog/Digital
Police Disp 2	21392	Analog/Digital
Police Traffic	21104	Analog/Digital
Police C2C	21232	Analog/Digital
Police Spec. E. 21200	Analog/Digital
Police Detect.	21168	Analog/Digital
Police Tact 1	21328	Analog/Digital
Police Tact 2	21296	Analog/Digital
Police Records	21360	Analog/Digital
Police CW1	20912	Analog/Digital
Police CW2	20880	Analog/Digital

But when I flip the switch and ID SCAN, things go silent. Either it's super quiet out there or I'm missing something. (I do hear activity outside.) Perhaps there's overlap I'm not accounting for.

So that brings me here.

I think my options are:
  • Ask the forum, see what's up (here now!)
  • ID SEARCH and try to filter out the noise by ear (fun but feels like i'll be at it for months)
  • Enable Close Call, wait for nearby activity, and identify the TGID. (I've never really had CC work properly, even with a 3rd party whip. But am open to trying that again.)