• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

TwoToneDetect Beta

Status
Not open for further replies.

bendsley

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
6
Location
Coshocton, OH
Multiple Instances

I am trying to install multiple instances (2). I am installing the second one in a different folder, but I get the message: No software will be installed or removed. I believe this is because it is already installed. Is there another way to install a second instance of it?

Thanks,
Brent
 

frozensun090

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
4
I have the program up and running and it detects and records calls properly, the only problem is after it detects tones and records(not sure where in the process this happens) the program crashes and never sends an email. I get the standard windows send report window.

Any suggestions?

Windows XP Pro
Labview off program page
.Net vers 4 (<--is it that?)
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,128
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
I have just installed this (finally) and successfully got it to send the email, but had no file attached. I added the LAME encoder to my program and data directories and restarted. Hopefully that's all I need - we'll see, next time my department gets a call!
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,128
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
I may have spoken too soon! About one hour after posting the above, we got a call, and I dashed out the door. My BB received the email with the MP3 in it, and it sounded fine, so I thought everything was going well.

I get back here to find "TwoToneDetect has stopped working" .... no real information provided by Windows. Restarted it, and all looks OK (again).

System is Windows 7 Ultimate x64, sending to an rmesfire.org email account through Gmail. LAME encoder x64 version was installed just before installing the program, as was the other software (VISA plugin and LABVIEW 8.5). Machine was rebooted after installing all this. Oh, and the TwoToneDetect program reports v0.24 (although the archive it was in is titled TwoToneDetect25_1.zip).

I seem to recall seeing someone else having crashing issues further back in the thread - I'll go look for that, but in the meantime if anyone has any advice, please fire away!

EDIT: I am indeed running under administrator privileges as someone else said they had to. I figured that out when I couldn't save the config files upon exiting. Not sure what the problem is with the crashing right after sending the mail - really hope I can figure that part out......
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,128
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
Still having trouble -

I installed .Net 4 - thought I had it, but I didn't - and I downgraded from TTD .25 to .21. It too keeps crashing. Here is the error I got most recently:

Application has generated an exception that could not be handled.

Process ID=0x18f0 (6384), Thread ID=0x1364 (4964).
Does anyone have any idea if I'd have better stability on XP? I have a notebook running XP that I can try this on.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
63
Location
south rockwood mi
I have had it running on both win 7 and xp without a problem. a while back i had an older computer with xp on it and it crashed quite often, now with new computers it will crash maybe once a month not sure why it just does. I have a monitor, keyboard, mouse switcher and it almost always crashes when i switch from one computer to the other? sorry jay911 but i have no answers. although i did have good luck with xp
 

iamhere300

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
1,293
Location
Chappell Hill TX
Ok, this program is slicker than snot on a doorknob. Thanks Andy!

My questions, what does 25.1 get me that 21 does not? You list one as tested, the other as not.

Anyone on USCC know what format the audio files for them should be for MMS?

Is 25.1 stable? Will it overwrite 21, or do I need to delete it, or just install 25.1 and use it instead? (Leaving the old one as a backup?

And Andy - are you the same Andy that used to be writing trunking radio programs? From back in the Scan-l days? (whatever happened to Scan-L?)
 

iamhere300

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
1,293
Location
Chappell Hill TX
When sending out the page as a MMS, I get a good 5-10 seconds of dead air, then the tones, then it cuts off at 16 seconds.

I guess US Cellular could be the reason for 16 seconds, but what is up with the dead air?
 

aliby19

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
134
Location
McCordsville, IN
Jay911 - I have had similar issues as I noted earlier here: http://forums.radioreference.com/sc...120010-twotonedetect-beta-17.html#post1246799 and http://forums.radioreference.com/sc...120010-twotonedetect-beta-23.html#post1313985

Unfortunately I'm still having issues with TwoToneDetect crashing. I also have another problem -- TwoToneDetect will record and email me the file, but the recording is quite sped up. It's supposed to record 60 seconds, but it only ends up being around 30, with the recording being sped up 2x. This might be due to the fact that I'm running this on a VMware ESXi server.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,128
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
I have "solved" my crashing issues with the afore-mentioned "Application Monitor" software and disabling the crash notification popup in Windows with a registry tweak. Now when the software crashes, it disappears completely, and App Monitor restarts it within 2 minutes.

My biggest issue right now is that we had our first call in several days this morning, and the email wasn't generated. I have no idea if the recording actually happened because I was asleep, but everything looks proper on the program's settings.
 

aaknitt

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
1,117
I have "solved" my crashing issues with the afore-mentioned "Application Monitor" software and disabling the crash notification popup in Windows with a registry tweak. Now when the software crashes, it disappears completely, and App Monitor restarts it within 2 minutes.

My biggest issue right now is that we had our first call in several days this morning, and the email wasn't generated. I have no idea if the recording actually happened because I was asleep, but everything looks proper on the program's settings.
You can check the directory where the audio files are stored to see if it recorded anything or not. Also, take a look at the the "Detection Output" box if you haven't restarted the program since then to see if it detected the tones and recorded anything.

Andy
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
48
Location
Metropolis, IL
ttd not responding

hello,, i recently went to install ttd on a stand alone pc to be used for nothing but this software, since it slows down our main pc at the station. its an older machine, (dell) 2ghz processor and 512mb ram. I've installed all the needed files (labview and .net framework) and upon loading ttd, it automatically does not respond. and locks up everything else. does anyone know the mim requirements for running this software? or any other issues that I might can fix?

Thanks
Micah
 

pete133

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
7
error message

im geting this message .. the vi is not executable. the full development version of labview is needed to fix the errors. any ideas ? thank you ... pete
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
48
Location
Metropolis, IL
im geting this message .. the vi is not executable. the full development version of labview is needed to fix the errors. any ideas ? thank you ... pete
pete,,, try changing back to the 3.5 version of the .net framework,,, i had the same problem and had to switch from the 4.0 back to the 3.5

hope that helps,,
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
30
Location
Texas
Man Great program!

I do have a small issue, My dept and two others use the same A tone but different B tones. Our long tone is the A tone continued. ok so the problem is our dispatch plays our tones twice not sure why but when paging us they do the tone part twice back to back. So when one of the other depts gets a call it reads it as our long tone. it picks up the first A tone for them then no B tone found so it listens for long tone about the time they are starting the second one and it reads it as lone tone detected.
any ideas on how to fix this?
our tone length is 1sec 3sec with a 2 sec beep between tone sets.

Also works great for text! they come in about the time the email is done sending.

* AT&T &#8211; cellnumber@txt.att.net
* Verizon &#8211; cellnumber@vtext.com
* T-Mobile &#8211; cellnumber@tmomail.net
* Sprint PCS - cellnumber@messaging.sprintpcs.com
* Virgin Mobile &#8211; cellnumber@vmobl.com
* US Cellular &#8211; cellnumber@email.uscc.net
* Nextel - cellnumber@messaging.nextel.com
* Boost - cellnumber@myboostmobile.com
* Alltel &#8211; cellnumber@message.alltel.com
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,128
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
Based on what I have open in Regedit when I reopen it (don't think I have changed anything since), it would be Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsErrorReporting - change "DontShowUI" from 0 to 1.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top