• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Tx inhibit on Busy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

beaker7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 26, 2016
Messages
176
Location
Boise, ID
I have a XTS 5000 and I would like to make it so I can't transmit on Rx (so we dont talk over each other) I know how to do it on my HT1000 but I cant seam to get it to work on my XTS 5000. I have MDC1200 enabled and have "Tx Inhibit on Busy" box checked under mdc1200. Any ideas?
 

gatekeep

FAIL 01/93
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
402
Location
New York, NY
If this is a conventional personality:

Look for the Smart PTT tab under the Conventional Personality settings; and change the mode to Inhibit on Carrier. Additionally, if you don't want the user to be able to quick key override (i.e. double-tap the PTT to transmit anyway), make sure the "Quick Key Override" checkbox is not checked.
 

beaker7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 26, 2016
Messages
176
Location
Boise, ID
If this is a conventional personality:

Look for the Smart PTT tab under the Conventional Personality settings; and change the mode to Inhibit on Carrier. Additionally, if you don't want the user to be able to quick key override (i.e. double-tap the PTT to transmit anyway), make sure the "Quick Key Override" checkbox is not checked.
Ok thank you very much for that information!
 

beaker7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 26, 2016
Messages
176
Location
Boise, ID
If this is a conventional personality:

Look for the Smart PTT tab under the Conventional Personality settings; and change the mode to Inhibit on Carrier. Additionally, if you don't want the user to be able to quick key override (i.e. double-tap the PTT to transmit anyway), make sure the "Quick Key Override" checkbox is not checked.
Ok as it turns out the Tx inhibit on busy isnt working on my HT1000 and there isnt a smart ptt tab for the ht1000. any ideas?
 

beaker7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 26, 2016
Messages
176
Location
Boise, ID
Why are you using MDC? Do you have an operational NEED for MDC?

I'm asking because if you don't need MDC, don't use it. NOBODY wants to hear those data bursts!

Not using it also simplifies the configuration.
Were all using MDC1200 so all we hear is a little beep. If your eavesdropping and you don't like the data burst tough cookies.
 
Last edited:

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,297
Location
So Cali
Were all using MDC1200 so all we hear is a little beep. If your eavesdropping and you don't like the data burst tough cookies.

BUT the dammed MDC is louder than all the voices.....................

Even with DOS enabled.
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,297
Location
So Cali
DOS does not have a 'beep'.
DOS is Data Operated Squelch............. mutes the MDC 'tones' on the radio's receive.
 

beaker7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 26, 2016
Messages
176
Location
Boise, ID
DOS does not have a 'beep'.
DOS is Data Operated Squelch............. mutes the MDC 'tones' on the radio's receive.
Not on my radio, replaces the screetch sound with a beep. and I all ready know what DOS stand for.
 

gatekeep

FAIL 01/93
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
402
Location
New York, NY
Not on my radio, replaces the screetch sound with a beep. and I all ready know what DOS stand for.
FYI -- what sounds like a beep -- is likely not a beep -- its the beginning of the MDC data packet which the radio identifies and immediately mutes. The DOS muting happens fast enough that all you hear is the beginning of the burst which makes it appear to be a "beep".

If it is indeed an actual beep, you have some special firmware that the rest of us have never seen.

The only other beep associated with MDC and other analog signalling formats; was the Side Tones, those are synthesized beeps for the end user to know when he/she can speak.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top