Type column in database

Status
Not open for further replies.

egloskerry

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
8
I've searched, looked through the FAQ and stickies, nothing. I know this is really simple, but I don't know it. In the database, what does the "type" column mean? I've figured out that A is analog and D is digital, but what about other abbreviations? RM, M, R, B, BM, RMF. I'm traveling to Pittsburgh soon and just want to know which freqs I should program into my analog trunking (Pro-95) scanner. I don't want to waste a whole bunch of time programming in digital freqs. Thanks.
 

Russell

Texas DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
1,618
Location
Dallas (and Austin) Texas
These are the station classes used on the freq listed in the first column and can be used in any combination (preferred use is first).

RM - Repeaters and mobiles
M - mobiles
R - repeaters
B - base (usually not a repeater)
BM - bases and mobiles (usually not repeated, but can be)
RMF - repeater, mobile or fixed (control)
 

WayneH

Forums Veteran
Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Messages
7,501
Location
Sitting in an airport somewhere
A mobile is a portable or radio in a vehicle.
A base is a fixed radio at an office or remotely located on top of a mountain. Typically there is a phone line or microwave point-to-point link when the transmitter is consider a "remote base".
A repeater receives on one frequency and restransmits on another. They're located on top of a mountain or tall point.
Fixed indicates there is a fixed RF link specifically setup to operate the transmitter or repeater at a remote location (uses a yagi [directional] antenna). The link uses a standard FM frequency (i.e., not microwave or a phone line).
 

egloskerry

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
8
Alright, I didn't want to start another thread for such a dumb question: In the database, what do I do with the tone? Is it able to be programmed into the scanner to have it tune to that freq automatically?
 

n4yek

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2004
Messages
2,491
Location
Newport, Tennessee
Alright, I didn't want to start another thread for such a dumb question: In the database, what do I do with the tone? Is it able to be programmed into the scanner to have it tune to that freq automatically?
The tone refers to the pl or dcs tone utilized by the agency using that frequency to limit interference.
If your scanner is capable of tone decoding, by all means use it. Not all scanners have that capability
but most newer scanners have this as part of the hardware in the scanner.
You will most likely have to enter the tone manually with the frequency when you program it.
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,091
Location
Fortunately, GA
Alright, I didn't want to start another thread for such a dumb question: In the database, what do I do with the tone? Is it able to be programmed into the scanner to have it tune to that freq automatically?
The 95 does not have that capability to program in PL/DPL tones ( PL 151.4, DPL 173) as examples. If you are asking about the tone for a trunked system, no you do not need to program that either. The 95 is a control channel scanner, so, you just need to put in the frequencies in red and blue for trunked systems (including setting the bank for MOT). Conventional frequencies can be just entered in as they are.
HTH,
Larry
 

davidbond21

Member
Joined
May 18, 2005
Messages
531
Location
New Braunfels, TX
If all you have is the PRO-95, don't worry about tones. Your scanner will still hear whatever is on that frequency though, as long as it is not a digital transmission(under the Mode column as "D", vs analog "A")

(N8IAA: you beat me too it!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top