• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

TYT TH-F8 Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

d_clinton

Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
28
Hi guys,

Does any one have any ideas what is wrong this radio? Simple fix or junk? Is there a way to do a factory reset on these?

When I turn it on, the whole screen blacks out and that's all it seems to do. Buttons are not responsive and the backlight doesn't turn on.
 

Attachments

N2AL

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
416
Location
Tennessee
I wonder if it was somehow bricked. Is there a way to perform a factory reset?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

d_clinton

Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
28
Pulled it apart and got it sort of working. I think it's water damaged. Seems to have corrosion on the board. Oh well, got it in a bulk lot of radios for $30. No loss really.
 

N2AL

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
416
Location
Tennessee
Ah yes water is usually not friendly to electronics. Trust me I've been there- baptized a BlackBerry once in unsweet tea.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

jonwienke

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
9,184
Location
PA
I agree, if water got inside, it's unlikely to ever work properly again.
 

xyleneuk

Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2017
Messages
1
reset function (just in case)

Hello I found that to reset the unit you start power off, hold the function key and power back on again. should get the option to reset.

HTH

James
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top