UASD craps out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Airdorn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
436
Sometimes I'll leave the scanner, computer, and the UASD logging software running all day while I'm at work.

Occasionally, I'll come home, and the 'Online Control' of the software will have mysteriously disappeared. The main program itself is still running.. but the extended logging function is gone.

Has anyone heard of this problem? If so, what's the fix?

Please, no wisecracks about using REAL software like bctool or ARC or whatever. I want to use the UASD software exclusively, if at all possible. :)

Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
182
There are many UASD versions, depending on your scanner model.

Can you be more specific in your post please?
 

Airdorn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
436
Are you using a USB-Serial adaptor? I have found those aren't always reliable for that kind of work.
Yes, I am using that. I have UASD on my laptop.

Also, I have the BCD996T scanner.
 

KE5MC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,127
Location
Lewisville, TX
laptop pwr settings?

Check your advanced power setting to make sure something is not going to sleep during a long period of no activity.

mike
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
182
This may seem like a weird suggestion but if you have a webcam, you could set it up to record if someone is messing up with your computer or your scanner when you're gone to work all day. Maybe you have a snooping landlord/ex-wife/girlfriend/child etc...

Hope you find a fix for your problem.
 

KE5MC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,127
Location
Lewisville, TX
I was thinking along the lines of nothing coming back from the radio to record (hard-drive asleep). While I have run USDA a couple of times I can say that I an not familiar with it's behavior nor the combination of Airdorn's system (laptop/scanner/application). Just suggesting ideas to chase until identified as dead-ends.

There are no periods of "no activity" while logging software is running. The scanner is constantly being polled.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top