Understanding radio "jargon?"

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was wondering if someone had an online resource for radio codes and such (police fire and ems.) and an example, on the NORCOM automated dispatch it says Pack-1 everytime it says something, i am wondering what stuff like that means. also, i am a total noobie to this, so please don't get mad when it is obvious (to you).

KB4MSZ

Billy
Premium Subscriber
Police, fire and EMS signal codes can vary from state to state and even between counties and towns within a state. While there are certain codes that are fairly common it would be hard to give a definitive list for something of that nature.

JamesPrine

I was a policeman for over 33 years. New Orleans. Also worked part-time as a United Cab driver. Learning the various codes is like learning a new language. We used to issue 'code cards' to new people fresh out of the Academy; one side for Signal Codes, and the other for 10-codes. It took a while to absorb them and their permutations. Seems no one used the same codes, so it could be a bit of a challenge sometimes. Try to get a code card for the agency you like to monitor, though these days, quite a few agencies are going to 'plain language' comms, which clearly negates the entire concept of why we used brevity codes in the first place. But tech has advanced so much, too... When I was a 'defective', mostly we stuck with cell phones and off the regular police radios.

im800mhz

Robovoice is actually saying TAC-1. It's the response talkgroup.

doovenator

Premium Subscriber
Robovoice is actually saying TAC-1. It's the response talkgroup.
That's exactly what I was thinking as well. I've been in busy area's and the TAC number will change.