• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Unication G4/G5 Firmware 1.2 released!

Status
Not open for further replies.

WaveJam

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
166
Location
Frederick, MD.
From Unication about the echo'ing issue on 4/5/2019:
There is no release date for the next version at this time. Engineering is still working on new features and that issue. If the echo is a huge issue, you can go back to version 1.1 which did not have the issue
 

bravada

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2003
Messages
70
Location
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia CANADA
In my area there would be a desire to be able to scan a VHF conventional channel and a P25 trunking system at the same time.
Anyone else with that on their wish list?

Unication has said no plans to offer it at this time.
 

boatbod

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
2,694
Location
Talbot Co, MD
In my area there would be a desire to be able to scan a VHF conventional channel and a P25 trunking system at the same time.
Anyone else with that on their wish list?

Unication has said no plans to offer it at this time.
Yes, in my view this would be a no-brainer! Not every department can transmit tones over P25 yet, and without a dual-watch capability it's problematic to monitor trunked tac channels in case you miss an alert.
 

ffexpCP

wizard of odd
Database Admin
Joined
May 15, 2004
Messages
625
Location
Michigan
Yes, in my view this would be a no-brainer! Not every department can transmit tones over P25 yet, and without a dual-watch capability it's problematic to monitor trunked tac channels in case you miss an alert.
Or at least have it revert to monitoring a talkgroup post VHF page. Or even revert to a talkgroup after a pagegroup page, to make it act more like a conventional minitor pager.
 

tp3244

Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2017
Messages
50
Have had the version 1.2 firmware on my G5 since it came out. A couple oddities:

1) Charging errors once in a while. In general the battery charges, however often the red LED doesn't go out and green come on (even after charged), or I get a "charging error". I'm using the USB charging (not the base). I bought a new battery from Unication and replaced it , with no change in behavior.
2) Often when I turn the unit on, I get the "Volume", then the "Scanning" screen, but the display goes blank and the radio outputs no audio indefinitely - hitting buttons on the front of the unit still results in a blank display. If I do a hard reset (hold down two buttons on left hand side plus playback button on top) it will reset and function normally. Kind of annoying having to reset the unit most of the time after turning it on, but other than that, once it's up and running, it's very reliable and works great.

Anyone else w/ these issues?
 

philipparks68

Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2014
Messages
21
Location
Arnold, mo
I don’t get the charging errors. I am using the base charger though. My G5 does the same as yours with the blank screen and having to reset. Oddly my G4 has not had that problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
4,838
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Have had the version 1.2 firmware on my G5 since it came out. A couple oddities:

1) Charging errors once in a while. In general the battery charges, however often the red LED doesn't go out and green come on (even after charged), or I get a "charging error". I'm using the USB charging (not the base). I bought a new battery from Unication and replaced it , with no change in behavior.
2) Often when I turn the unit on, I get the "Volume", then the "Scanning" screen, but the display goes blank and the radio outputs no audio indefinitely - hitting buttons on the front of the unit still results in a blank display. If I do a hard reset (hold down two buttons on left hand side plus playback button on top) it will reset and function normally. Kind of annoying having to reset the unit most of the time after turning it on, but other than that, once it's up and running, it's very reliable and works great.

Anyone else w/ these issues?
Did you do a full reset, by pulling the battery, after installing the firmware? Have you tried reloading the firmware?

Sent using Tapatalk
 

bob550

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,622
Location
Albany County, NY
Charging errors once in a while. In general the battery charges, however often the red LED doesn't go out and green come on (even after charged), or I get a "charging error".
I've had that happen when using the desk charging base. But, I also found that the OEM USB cable did not seat securely with the base. Since replacing with another micro USB cable, I've not had this error. You may want to replace the cable with one who's micro USB connector is a tad longer and see if that eliminates this problem.
 

RadioSnoop

Member
Joined
May 27, 2015
Messages
8
I think this has already been addressed, but I just want to clarify before I install the update...

I have the G5 and used the utility to change the model number so I could receive DMR.

What affect will this firmware update have? Will I still be able to receive DMR? Will I need to change the model number back to do the update? Will I need to change the model number again in order to receive DMR?

I want to install the firmware update, but I don’t want to lose DMR.

Thanks!!
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,120
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
I think this has already been addressed, but I just want to clarify before I install the update...

I have the G5 and used the utility to change the model number so I could receive DMR.

What affect will this firmware update have? Will I still be able to receive DMR? Will I need to change the model number back to do the update? Will I need to change the model number again in order to receive DMR?

I want to install the firmware update, but I don’t want to lose DMR.
Just do it. You will not lose DMR (and you don't need to do anything special to retain it).
 

alpha2disp

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
8
Does anyone know if when you receive a page over a TGID (non 2 tone), is there some way to have an led flash or something to tell you that a call came in?

Wondering because currently mine is not set up for that and let’s say I didn’t have my pager on me, but wanted to know if there was an alert when I got back to it without having to hit the playback button.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

boatbod

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
2,694
Location
Talbot Co, MD
Does anyone know if when you receive a page over a TGID (non 2 tone), is there some way to have an led flash or something to tell you that a call came in?

Wondering because currently mine is not set up for that and let’s say I didn’t have my pager on me, but wanted to know if there was an alert when I got back to it without having to hit the playback button.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I believe that's the "unread message indicator" (or whatever it's called) which can be found on the knob position programming screen.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
4,838
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Does anyone know if when you receive a page over a TGID (non 2 tone), is there some way to have an led flash or something to tell you that a call came in?

Wondering because currently mine is not set up for that and let’s say I didn’t have my pager on me, but wanted to know if there was an alert when I got back to it without having to hit the playback button.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Have the pager store the pages, and see if there is something new. If you change into a "push to listen" mode, the pager will give you an "unread message" notification.

Sent using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top