Uniden 436/536HP clock problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

RICH421

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 21, 2003
Messages
33
Location
Bay Shore N.Y.
Every Time I turn on either unit I end up having to re-program the clock and day/month etc.
Any Help would be appreciated.
 

Marcov

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2003
Messages
23
Location
Denver, CO
I am having the clock reset problem with the BCD436HP. Virtually every time I turn on the radio, I need to reset the date/time. I have upgraded to the latest firmware. Any suggestions?
 

Dafe1er

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
790
Location
Off in a far away place, far from u.......
I am having the clock reset problem with the BCD436HP. Virtually every time I turn on the radio, I need to reset the date/time. I have upgraded to the latest firmware. Any suggestions?
Since the first time of setting the clock until now I have had no issues with it needing to be redone.

I switch out batteries twice a day and never once plugged the scanner in to charge off the PC.

Maybe that is why? I switch batteries.
 

Donald Roberts

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
46
Location
Cranston,RI
i am having the clock reset problem with the bcd436hp. Virtually every time i turn on the radio, i need to reset the date/time. I have upgraded to the latest firmware. Any suggestions?
has the internal battery had time to charge over night?
 

Bearcat1207

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Mar 4, 2014
Messages
3
Clock

you must have a defective unit both my clocks are dead on all the time. No pun intended. Never had to reset either of them.
 

harryshute

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
1,650
Location
Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA
I've had this issue on all three of my 436's. What has finally helped me was when I plugged in the USB I selected No when asked about charging. This apparently allows the internal battery to charge rather than the AA batteries. I have used the set clock function in settings rather than on the power up screen. Rather than charging over night it's more like 50 hours with this unit.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
122
Location
Live Free Or Die
I had the same issue when I first powered the unit. It happened 3-4 times but since then, it never asked me for the time etc.

I also plug in the USB and say no to charge.
 

pepsima1

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
1,076
Location
Pimp County, Neveda
best practices with portable scanner units is to say no to charging and use an external battery charger to properly charge the batteries. I just don't want any damage to my batteries or overheat them and leak acid into my radio. Not saying it will ever happen but I just don't want to take the chance. Plus then I can cycle my batteries in the charger to get full use of them.
 

teknishun

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
314
Location
Alvin, Texas
I had the same issue when I first powered the unit. It happened 3-4 times but since then, it never asked me for the time etc.

I also plug in the USB and say no to charge.
How are you guys getting the 436HP to operate from the USB cable?
Mine won't do it and I can't find it in either the Uniden manual or
the Easy to Read version. Both are seriously lacking when it
comes to battery uses and recharging.

When my 436HP is OFF and the USB cable is connected to the PC
I see a Normal Charging message. If I power the scanner ON then it
says USB Cable Detected and it wants me to choose what type of
connection by pressing either Yes or No.

If the scanner was already ON when I plug in the USB cable I get
exactly the same result.

So, what nobs do I twiddle or buttons do I push in order to run the
436HP from the USB power supply?

teknishun KF5OPQ
 

teknishun

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
314
Location
Alvin, Texas
Re: 436HP clock issue and my previous message

So, what nobs do I twiddle or buttons do I push in order to run the
436HP from the USB power supply?

teknishun KF5OPQ
I forgot to mention I am having the same problem with the 436HP clock
having to be reset if the scanner stays turned off and not connecetd
to the USB for several days. I am using 2300 mAh batteries and I just
don't believe the clock alone would drain the batteries that quickly.

teknishun KF5OPQ
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,288
Location
Arlington, TX
1) Select serial mode for the USB.
2) Leave the scanner turned on w/power for a long time to charge the internal battery (they clock does not run off of the AA's).
 

ki6asp

Member
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
38
Location
Eastern MA
How much current does the 436 draw when operating? I couldn't find it in the manual's specification pages.
 

redburgundy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 1, 2009
Messages
337
Mine draws 0.02 amp at 120 volts.
I don't have a way to measure the current at 5 volts.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,976
Location
Southeastern Michigan
2) Leave the scanner turned on w/power for a long time to charge the internal battery (they clock does not run off of the AA's).
Would there be a way to turn off the internal charger for the AA batteries? That way the internal battery can charge, without applying a charge to the removable batteries.

Sent via Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top