UNIDEN 996P2 Upgrade Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

ve3opc

Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
148
Location
Picton Ontario
I was considering purchasing a Upgrade key for my radio and ran into a discrepancy error...
I was informed by some one here that such a firmware has to be uploaded using Sentinel..
Although I see what appears to be an available upgrade key Sentinel is not compatible with the 996P2.
I have always used Freescan.

I also ran into issues with it even accepting my SN:# after following the procedure described.



I noted as well a Untrunker Key available ...What would this key purchase give me.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
4,024
I was considering purchasing a Upgrade key for my radio and ran into a discrepancy error...
I was informed by some one here that such a firmware has to be uploaded using Sentinel..
Although I see what appears to be an available upgrade key Sentinel is not compatible with the 996P2.
I have always used Freescan.

I also ran into issues with it even accepting my SN:# after following the procedure described.



I noted as well a Untrunker Key available ...What would this key purchase give me.

Last of all does anyone know if DMR is even used in the Quinte area and if so who uses it É
Sentinel has nothing to do with the BCD996P2 scanner, don't know why someone would tell you that.

Also, be aware if you are being asked for your serial number (SN), or the electronic serial number (ESN)... they are different.

Read carefully and follow the directions to the letter on this page :

DigitalMobileRadioUpgradeforBCDxxxP2 < UnidenMan4 < TWiki

.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,047
Location
Central Ontario
Moved post to Uniden Tech Support forum.

Please start a new thread in the Ontario forum for your Quinte question. Thanks.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,288
Location
Arlington, TX
Then you are entering something incorrectly. What are you entering?
 

ve3opc

Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
148
Location
Picton Ontario
Get this message (The Checksum you entered is not valid. Please recheck your input to ensure that you have entered the last 12 digits of the ESN correctly (the first 5 digits are prefilled for you). For more help, click the "Where is my ESN?" link on the registration page.

Please go back by clicking your back button. )
 

ve3opc

Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
148
Location
Picton Ontario
Anyone also aware of DMR or Provoice use in my area (Quinte) to make such a purchase worth while É..its like $110.00 American for both...Expensive.
 

DougWatkins

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
45
Go to RR...look at Hastings..there are some DMR systems...I don't see any Edacs...there is some NXDN which I don't believe the 996p2 can decode
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
7,092
Location
MACOMB, MI.
I recently purchased, and installed both DMR & Provoice upgrades, and the process worked perfectly. I'm not aware of anyone in the Macomb County, Michigan area, that are using these modes at this time. But I felt it important to grab the upgrades while they're available, and before I get too old and senile, to install them. :)

The BCD996P2 is one of the best scanners I've ever owned, and in I've tried them all in the 50 years I've been enjoying the hobby.
 

kb9hgi

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
404
Location
IL
where do you go and purchase the key for DMR?
 

DougWatkins

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
45
#5 has the direct links to the firmware upgrade and then the purchase DMR/Provoice process
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
4,024
#5 has the direct links to the firmware upgrade and then the purchase DMR/Provoice process
The link in post #3 contains all the information and instructions for purchasing and installing the digital unlock key, and the link to the firmware upgrade information. It's all under the heading "Getting the Upgrade" on that page.

.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top