• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Uniden BCD996T Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveA

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
9
Location
Bellingham, MA
I know the scanner has 6,000 channels but how many "banks" are there? How many channels per Bank?
 

Sac916

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,400
WIKI is your friend.......
http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/BC996T



Memory Storage Limits

Total Channels - 6000

Creation of systems and channel groups use channel slots. The actual total channel count will be less than 6000.

( banks) Systems - 500

Sites - 1000

Sites per Systems - 256

(sub-banks) Groups per System - 20

Channels per Conventional Systems - 1000

(Talk Group ID) Channels per Trunked Systems - 250

Trunked Frequencies per Site 750 - 1000 (depending on the number of TGID in the system)

Alpha-tags do not affect the size of dynamic memory.
 

jgodeker

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
23
Location
Grand Island, Nebraska
Bc996t

If you're thinking about buying the BC996T, you won't be disapointed with the "bank/channel" capacity of the unit, I've had my 996 for about a month now and I don't worry about maxing out the memory.
 

JASII

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
2,288
I intentionally maxed out the conventional memory this weekend. As per posted specifications, it has 6000 conventional channels. I had them with PL/DPL, but not many alpha-numeric channel names. If you want you can think of each "system" as a "bank". So, in essence, you could have 500 "banks" of 12 conventional channels each.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
Or 1 bank of 6000 channels (or billions of other combinations in between).
 

wabc770

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2004
Messages
79
Location
NE OH
If it's like mine, fill 'er up with 6K and you'll sit there til' Halloween for it to cycle thru one time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top