• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Uniden BR330T, removing batteries!

Status
Not open for further replies.

KC0UHS

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
0
Location
Springfield, MO
Is it just me, or are removing the 3 rechargeable batteries in this scanner to replace them with fresh ones a pain in the a**. I don't have much in the way of fingernails, but i've never had the problem taking batteries out of a scanner than i do with this one. I know you can charge the batteries internally, but that takes days! Any help? do they make a special tool for removing the batteries that i don't know about???

thanks, roger
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
6,207
Location
Dallas, TX
KC0UHS said:
Is it just me, or are removing the 3 rechargeable batteries in this scanner to replace them with fresh ones a pain in the a**. I don't have much in the way of fingernails, but i've never had the problem taking batteries out of a scanner than i do with this one. I know you can charge the batteries internally, but that takes days! Any help? do they make a special tool for removing the batteries that i don't know about???

thanks, roger
I don't have a problem, but why not lay a thin cloth or plastic strip in the battery tray area, before inserting the batteries. Lots of devices use one that are secured in place on one end. Just add your own. As long as it's thin enough not to raise the batteries so much that the cover won't go on, should solve your problem.
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
I'm thinking a slide cover that would lock on the bottom of the radio would be better for this type of battery situation, so the batteries could drop out of the compartment. Most of us do not recharge the batteries in the radio due to the Uniden timer only method anyway. maybe in a future model we need a AA (or AAA) battery pack, such as used on ham radios?
 

Napalm

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
432
Location
Clark Co., Ind.
Nooooo, no battery pack... unless it's something you could put AA's into, like an empty case. One of those shrink wrapped packs is a bad idea.
 

pdfdems286

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
1,684
Location
coastal/eastern Monmouth NJ
Battery Cover

i have the same problem more so in my 396t than my br330.it also seems that the problem get's worse with the higher capacity nimh batteries.the 2650's make it harder to fit than the 2500's.possibly the higher cap's are thicker ?.
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
Napalm said:
Nooooo, no battery pack... unless it's something you could put AA's into, like an empty case. One of those shrink wrapped packs is a bad idea.
No, not a wrapped battery pack per say, just a battery case you can slide on or into the radio. We were fortunate to get away from them after the 235/245/250/296 generations.
 

Napalm

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
432
Location
Clark Co., Ind.
Like you find in a Pro-26 for instance?

That would be quite nice, as long as it was an even number of cells. I hate having to use three - I know, don't be so cheap and buy a charger that can do three at a time... but at the moment I have to charge four, use three and have one left over. Which is a pain in the butt.
 

maalox

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
755
Location
n y c
hi... i wonder why they did not make the 330t 2 batteries instead of 3. and brighter light like the 246t.
 

KC0UHS

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
0
Location
Springfield, MO
DaveIN said:
Most of us do not recharge the batteries in the radio due to the Uniden timer only method anyway.
So what is exactly is the problem with charging the batteries while in the scanner? And what do you mean by timer only method. I sure don't want to damage my scanner if there is a problem charging the batteries while they are in the scanner????
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top