Uniden Home Patrol 1 program issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

jzmcpherson

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
16
Location
princeton,wva
Hello all
I have a Uniden Home Patrol 1
Question 1 is what firmware are you all running. I live in Southern West Virginia and am running 2.03
Was gonna try other firmwares but can only find 2.05
someone said there was a 2.06 but I don't see it
Also told me to get 2.03, 2.04, 2.05, 2.06 because once you upload new firm ware old disappears so where to find them.
Question 2 is what software are you using to do so
I tried the Sentinal but it will not install on my Windows 10 64 bit system
says I need Net Framework 2.0
when I try to install pc says no way you have net framework 4.8
so I can not install sentinal
any help please
Jeff MC
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
7,319
Location
Ontario, Calif.
Hello all
I have a Uniden Home Patrol 1
Question 1 is what firmware are you all running. I live in Southern West Virginia and am running 2.03
Was gonna try other firmwares but can only find 2.05
someone said there was a 2.06 but I don't see it
Also told me to get 2.03, 2.04, 2.05, 2.06 because once you upload new firm ware old disappears so where to find them.
Question 2 is what software are you using to do so
I tried the Sentinal but it will not install on my Windows 10 64 bit system
says I need Net Framework 2.0
when I try to install pc says no way you have net framework 4.8
so I can not install sentinal
any help please
Jeff MC
Regarding #2
The .Net framework versions are designed to coexist. See this link to enable .Net Framework 2.0
 

jzmcpherson

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
16
Location
princeton,wva
well I have upgraded to 2.06 and I do not receive county or city PD anymore
I do on my police scanner app on my phone for my area but not on the home patrol 1
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
7,319
Location
Ontario, Calif.
well I have upgraded to 2.06 and I do not receive county or city PD anymore
I do on my police scanner app on my phone for my area but not on the home patrol 1

I don't think the problem is related to a particular firmware version. My guess is the data in the Sentinel Profile is not in sync with the scanner. If you changed something in the scanner such as Scan Selection or Service Type then afterwards should always use Sentinel to read the scanner so the data will be in sync. I would go into the scanner menu and check the Scan Selection, Service Types set on, etc.
 

jzmcpherson

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
16
Location
princeton,wva
I have rehooked to sentinel and read still no difference
all settings of HP1 are the same as I did not go into select servives
I saw a article where some areas did better on 2.03 for reception and was gonna experiment
it has a stock antenna
I will say all this technical stuff I am not good at
so was hoping to find all the old firmwares fron 2.03 to 2.05 and just play around with
thanks for any help
 

jzmcpherson

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
16
Location
princeton,wva
also has anyone did the HP1 extreme upgrade
did it help with reception
whats a good small outside antenna I can mount to chimney
where would be the best place to learn about scanners and programing for a person like me
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
11,118
Location
Dallas, TX
also has anyone did the HP1 extreme upgrade
did it help with reception
I have the Extreme Upgrade on both my HP-1 as well as HP-2.
After adding the Extreme Upgrade, I did not see any noticeable change in reception sensitivity. Not any better, nor any worse.
whats a good small outside antenna I can mount to chimney
I don't have this antenna, but it has gotten a number of comments as performing well.
where would be the best place to learn about scanners and programing for a person like me
There are a number of helpful articles in the Wiki here in RR.
Start with this page, and also check other pages linked on this one.

There are a number of videos on YouTube as well.
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
8,818
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
The extreme upgrade where only to add some management of the scanner and where not related to reception or performance of decode quality.
You can put whatever firmware version you would like in the firmware folder in the SD card and at next power on it will load it.

/Ubbe
 

jzmcpherson

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
16
Location
princeton,wva
cool
I think I may order the Tram 1411 its only a couple dollars more
i reset scanner and it seems to be working for the moment on a SRH 789 telescoping antena
will try to fig this thing out
thanks for your help
 

jzmcpherson

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
16
Location
princeton,wva
ok so update
ordered a Tram 1411 wideband discone antenna it will be about 5 ft above second story of house and I live at one of the highest points in my area
after a reset of the scanner on my indoor antenna I am now getting some good traffic
I hope to expand the coverage by putting above house using PL-259 cable with a SMA male to PL-259 female adaptor
will let you know hopefully it all gets here this week
 

jzmcpherson

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
16
Location
princeton,wva
The extreme upgrade where only to add some management of the scanner and where not related to reception or performance of decode quality.
You can put whatever firmware version you would like in the firmware folder in the SD card and at next power on it will load it.

/Ubbe
where can I find the older firmware versions
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
8,818
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
where can I find the older firmware versions
They used to be in that Yahoo forum but now all files in those forums have been removed by Yahoo. I don't know it they where moved to groups.io

The 2.03 firmware file that you wanted are linked to in that RR post I refered to.

/Ubbe
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
11,118
Location
Dallas, TX
They used to be in that Yahoo forum but now all files in those forums have been removed by Yahoo. I don't know it they where moved to groups.io

The 2.03 firmware file that you wanted are linked to in that RR post I refered to.

/Ubbe
Just checked. Version 2.03 firmware (zipped) is in the Files folder of the HomePatrol list on groups.io.

Not sure if you can access the link without being a member on that group.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top