United Airlines at IAH

mwjones

Premium Subscriber
Was going through some old notes, and recall seeing the license modification for United Airlines that gave them new 800MHz frequencies to replace their 900MHz frequencies (part of the 900MHz rebanding), and that the emissions were for DMR, spelling the end of the line of the OpenSky system.

As someone who hated OpenSky when they were talking about replacing their EDACS system (I was a contractor for Continental Airlines, pre-merger, and was involved in the discussion, and the alternative proposal to replace the EDACS with ARINC's iDEN system as well at that time, which they were successfully using in Newark, NJ), this one has been on my radar for a long time, despite me being in North Texas now.

I suspect that United will add it to the existing Moto Connect Plus that is in use at their other hubs, but I haven't heard if it is online yet. Has anyone in the area picked up on the new system and if the OpenSky is gone?

mwjones

Premium Subscriber
Wonder what's driving them away from the Connect Plus system, unless Motorola is forcing users down that road, since they aren't selling the system new in favor of Capacity Max.

Of course, in the last 18 months I was at Continental and the merger was underway (I left in November 2011), I saw a lot of questionable things happening from the United side of the house, so them doing crazy things like a system forklift of this nature would not come as a surprise.

Alrib123

Wonder what's driving them away from the Connect Plus system, unless Motorola is forcing users down that road, since they aren't selling the system new in favor of Capacity Max.

Of course, in the last 18 months I was at Continental and the merger was underway (I left in November 2011), I saw a lot of questionable things happening from the United side of the house, so them doing crazy things like a system forklift of this nature would not come as a surprise.