Updated:2002 CVPI

Status
Not open for further replies.

jfab

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
1,461
Location
Broomfield/Aurora, CO
I recently bought a VHF motorola spectra to add to the collection. Here are some pictures. This is the first time I've powered a radio using the battery, so I'm pretty proud of myself! I tried to document the process to "inspire" others!

Any feedback is appreciated!
 

Attachments

motomeso

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
935
Location
Ontario
I see two things wrong.

1) The fuse should be at the battery and not at the radio. If that wire gets pinched anywhere (Like in the door jam) there is nothing to stop that car from burning up.

2) The wire coming through the door jam. It needs to be brought through the firewall. If it is an old police cruiser there may already be a spot to bring in through.
 

jfab

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
1,461
Location
Broomfield/Aurora, CO
I see two things wrong.

1) The fuse should be at the battery and not at the radio. If that wire gets pinched anywhere (Like in the door jam) there is nothing to stop that car from burning up.

2) The wire coming through the door jam. It needs to be brought through the firewall. If it is an old police cruiser there may already be a spot to bring in through.
I looked for a place to bring it through and couldn't find anywhere. Any suggestions?

Also, what do you mean about the car "burning up?"
 

bezking

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
2,634
Location
On the Road
I looked for a place to bring it through and couldn't find anywhere. Any suggestions?

Also, what do you mean about the car "burning up?"
"Burning up" as in catching fire. Unfused, if that cable was breached in any way, exposing the wiring, and it was to come into contact with water (i.e. Rain), fire may occur. Unlikely? Sure. Possible? Absolutely.
 

Skypilot007

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
2,129
Location
Medford, NJ
You should check the passenger side floor near where your feet would be if seated in the seat. Pull up the rug or mat and look for two heavy guage wires. These are 30 and 50 amp feeds from the power distribution block. One is switched with the igniton and the other is hot all the time, can't remember which is which right now. These are for powering radios and other police gear. I would have used these instead of running all that wire. If your going to continue using the wire you installed put a fuse or a breaker in the line near the battery. That's a bit of a safty hazard the way it is like mentioned.
 

jfab

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
1,461
Location
Broomfield/Aurora, CO
You should check the passenger side floor near where your feet would be if seated in the seat. Pull up the rug or mat and look for two heavy guage wires. These are 30 and 50 amp feeds from the power distribution block. One is switched with the igniton and the other is hot all the time, can't remember which is which right now. These are for powering radios and other police gear. I would have used these instead of running all that wire. If your going to continue using the wire you installed put a fuse or a breaker in the line near the battery. That's a bit of a safty hazard the way it is like mentioned.
I know the area you are talking about and would definitely use those if I knew which one was which.

Would anyone happen to have a picture?

Thanks everybody for the feedback!
 

jfab

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
1,461
Location
Broomfield/Aurora, CO
Umm,why? With a full pkg. CVPI there is no need to drill,unless it's for another antenna.
These are already set up for high current aux.use...till 2012:(
n9zas
So there should already be holes in the firewall?

If for some reason I do need to drill, is there any method to that?
 

khubbard

Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
9
Location
Fair Play, SC
So there should already be holes in the firewall?

If for some reason I do need to drill, is there any method to that?
Are you sure you should be installing a radio when you dont know how to drill a hole. Its an old police crown vic. It wired for radio power.
 

jfab

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
1,461
Location
Broomfield/Aurora, CO
Are you sure you should be installing a radio when you dont know how to drill a hole. Its an old police crown vic. It wired for radio power.
I was simply asking if there was any particular spot in the firewall to drill. I didnt want to damage anything in my car.

The whole point of this forum is to ask questions and get answers from people who know more than you about this hobby. It's really frustrating to ask a legitimate question then get an answer like the one you just gave me. I did research on my own and figured out how to go through the grommet with a wire hanger.

If anyone else has any advice, I'd love to hear it. If not, please don't bother.

Thanks.
 

jack103

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
Messages
447
Location
Tewksbury MA
maybe he should read this!!!

I was simply asking if there was any particular spot in the firewall to drill. I didnt want to damage anything in my car.

The whole point of this forum is to ask questions and get answers from people who know more than you about this hobby. It's really frustrating to ask a legitimate question then get an answer like the one you just gave me. I did research on my own and figured out how to go through the grommet with a wire hanger.

If anyone else has any advice, I'd love to hear it. If not, please don't bother.

Thanks.
Vehicle fire - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
 

jfab

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
1,461
Location
Broomfield/Aurora, CO
ok guys i get it...thanks. the install sucks. i could improve it, but why? im trying to learn here and all im getting is smart ass remarks and wiki links...

thanks...
 

b7spectra

EMS Dispatcher
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
3,140
Location
Cobb County, GA
I had them bolted to the floor under the back seat and in my truck, I have a cubby hole behind the back seat where I bolted one to the back of it. And just in case it decided to worm it's way loose, I have foam padding propped against it. All nice and neat and quiet. In the CV, you should be able to bolt it to the rear deck panel. If you have it mounted where it's tough to plug into it to program, you may want to fabricate a small patch cable - db15 female on one end, db15 male on the other and bring it around to the front of the radio for easy access.

Where in the front do you have the Spectra & RS installed? I would look at a short stalk bolted to the floor and mount the RS unit to it and since you are using a remote head on the Spectra, some real strong double sided tape the head to the top of the RS. Or, you could just fabricate a bracket for them both.

It's hard to see, but the 996RH is dbl sided taped to the base of my 9 head (the mic has since been move to the right side)

 
Last edited:

Skypilot007

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
2,129
Location
Medford, NJ
I know the area you are talking about and would definitely use those if I knew which one was which.

Would anyone happen to have a picture?

Thanks everybody for the feedback!
I'll take a picture tomorrow if I have any vics around. The wires are not hard to find unless someone cut them off really short when removing equipment. If you can find them just check with a DVM to see which is switched.

Don't get discouraged by some of the comments on here. Most were for your saftey. I'd hate to read about your car burning to the ground. You're doing alright..not to many people have spectra's in thier cars or could even figure out how to program one.
 

madrabbitt

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
533
Location
NM
ok guys i get it...thanks. the install sucks. i could improve it, but why?
Why should you improve it?
For safety.
To keep the car from catching fire.
To keep from killing the radio.

HOW should you improve it?

If its a former interceptor, its going to have power feeds in the rear. Look for them. Look on the internet for interceptor fan sites, they generally have info on where the features are.

Dont run it thru the door jams if you can help it, in fact, never run power wires thru anything that could pinch them. You did good by protecting it with split loom, but even so, dont risk that.
Always fuse power lines as close to the battery as possible. If the line shorts, you want that fuse to blow to prevent any damage to anything.
Remove the paint around that ground point, get a dremel and sand it down to the bare shiny metal. It'll give you a better ground.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top