SDS100/SDS200: Using GPS Locator instead of using Favorites lists?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pianoboy100

Premium Subscriber
I’m brand new to this so please forgive me if I don’t seem to understand. I just purchased a SDS100 and am looking to get a GPS for it so I can track as I drive to and from my jobs. I am a freelancer and drive a lot all over the state. I have some favorites lists set up for the different locations I’m in, however, tonight there was stand still traffic in one location and I was trying to figure out how to connect to the municipality I was in but it wasn’t working and seemed like I had to reprogram.
I’m thinking the GPS is a quick way to track your area without much programming. Am I wrong in assuming this?

thanks for the insight !

donc13

Premium Subscriber
Yes and no..

GPS will not turn favorites on or off similar to selecting a favorites list to scan, and when you get down the road, selecting a different list and deslecting the list you were scanning. But, if you had location control set on both lists then depending on the range setting, both lists could be on, both could be off or just one is on. It does that by determining if a tower (site) is within range, it'll scan it and if it's outta range, it won't.

But... Both lists must be selected as ON in lists to scan.

The easier way, I'm MY usage, is to simply set the full database and then just 4 service types. For me, that's law enforcement dispatch, law enforcement tac, fire dispatch and fire tac.

As I drive around, that's all I hear and the departments change as I move. No programming needed. I keep my range set at 15 miles.

No matter what, I hear local police and fire only.

Obviously if those departments use encrypted communications, you will never hear them.

For me, that works, for you, maybe not.

pianoboy100

Premium Subscriber