• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Using my EX600 XLS as a pager

Status
Not open for further replies.

tkaplan501

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
13
Location
Croton-On-Hudson, NY
I have a Moto EX600 XLS portable radio, and I know you can use it as a pager.

I have programed the tone frequencies and the sequence (A-B) in a Quick Call II system already. I have also assigned that signal to a channel I designated as my pager channel (The dispatch channel). I did a test by setting the signal to a test frequency, and using another radio, I toned out on this test frequency. Now the EX600 did go into call alert, and made the proper beep, just as if it were a pager. So it worked. Now my problem is that the pager channel is constantly open on the frequency, monitoring everything. What I want is to actually use it as a pager where it will only open up on the desired channel when the tones go out (Like a monitor v). I do not want to scan my dispatch channel while on this pager channel, because the county dispatches my fire/ems, along with like 20 other departments, and I only want it to open up, and monitor the frequency when MY tones go off...

Is this possible? Please let me know if I am not making sense, I will try and clarify.

Thanks
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,087
Not familiar with the EX600 in particular, but somewhere in the MDC "System" programming is an option for 'AND" or "OR" audio gating. Your radio is set for "OR", which means it unmutes with either proper PL or proper MDC. You want to set it for "AND", which means radio requires both proper PL and proper MDC.

Also, you may need to switch from the "Page" function to the "SelCall" function.
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,585
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
I have a Moto EX600 XLS portable radio, and I know you can use it as a pager.

I have programed the tone frequencies and the sequence (A-B) in a Quick Call II system already. I have also assigned that signal to a channel I designated as my pager channel (The dispatch channel). I did a test by setting the signal to a test frequency, and using another radio, I toned out on this test frequency. Now the EX600 did go into call alert, and made the proper beep, just as if it were a pager. So it worked. Now my problem is that the pager channel is constantly open on the frequency, monitoring everything. What I want is to actually use it as a pager where it will only open up on the desired channel when the tones go out (Like a monitor v). I do not want to scan my dispatch channel while on this pager channel, because the county dispatches my fire/ems, along with like 20 other departments, and I only want it to open up, and monitor the frequency when MY tones go off...

Is this possible? Please let me know if I am not making sense, I will try and clarify.

Thanks
The EX600 is part of the Pro Series if I am not mistaken. This little info file should solve most of your problem:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxAVX2o_3yDlU0NFd3RaMEl6R2M/edit?usp=sharing

I grabbed the info from a couple of forums over the years and polished up. You should be all set.
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,585
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Not familiar with the EX600 in particular, but somewhere in the MDC "System" programming is an option for 'AND" or "OR" audio gating. Your radio is set for "OR", which means it unmutes with either proper PL or proper MDC. You want to set it for "AND", which means radio requires both proper PL and proper MDC.

Also, you may need to switch from the "Page" function to the "SelCall" function.
AND/OR is selected in the individual personality on the Signaling tab.

The SelCall function for this purpose is in the Signaling section under the Quik-Call II System which is what Tommy is using, not MDC.

The file I linked in the previous post contains specific instructions for setting up Quik-Call II on this series of radios.
 

tkaplan501

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
13
Location
Croton-On-Hudson, NY
Steve, thank you so much!!! You know everything!!! I also figured out my MDC issue from the other day, and now this works... Question though... Is there a way I can change the sound of the alert... Any alert that sounds like a pager going off?

Also, will the QCII work, and will it go into call alert if the channel is CSQ with no T/DPL code?

Thanks
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,585
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Steve, thank you so much!!! You know everything!!! I also figured out my MDC issue from the other day, and now this works... Question though... Is there a way I can change the sound of the alert... Any alert that sounds like a pager going off?

Also, will the QCII work, and will it go into call alert if the channel is CSQ with no T/DPL code?

Thanks
Tommy,

I am not familiar with a way to change the alert tone when a call alert is received. Doesn't mean it is not possible, just that I've not encountered any discussion on that in over two years of roaming the net seeking info on the Pro Series of radios. If someone knows, I'd be delighted to learn about it.

I usually don't set TPL or DPL on personalities set up for QC-II decoding/alerting. CSQ works fine. Since you are not monitoring the channel, really no need for any PL. The channel is silent until an alert is received. If you're going to respond, you'd switch to the Tx/Rx version of the channel anyway where the proper PL's would be set. At least that's how I'd work it for my squad.
 

tkaplan501

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
13
Location
Croton-On-Hudson, NY
Tommy,

I am not familiar with a way to change the alert tone when a call alert is received. Doesn't mean it is not possible, just that I've not encountered any discussion on that in over two years of roaming the net seeking info on the Pro Series of radios. If someone knows, I'd be delighted to learn about it.

I usually don't set TPL or DPL on personalities set up for QC-II decoding/alerting. CSQ works fine. Since you are not monitoring the channel, really no need for any PL. The channel is silent until an alert is received. If you're going to respond, you'd switch to the Tx/Rx version of the channel anyway where the proper PL's would be set. At least that's how I'd work it for my squad.
I found it in the Signaling Configuration menu. There are 7 different alert tones, also a standard one that you can choose from. Alert 1 is the most like the Minitor V Pager... FYI. Also, you were right about tones for the channels, so I just put the pager channels in CSQ.
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,585
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
I found it in the Signaling Configuration menu. There are 7 different alert tones, also a standard one that you can choose from. Alert 1 is the most like the Minitor V Pager... FYI. Also, you were right about tones for the channels, so I just put the pager channels in CSQ.
Thanks! I will add that info to my notes.
 

tkaplan501

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
13
Location
Croton-On-Hudson, NY
Does anyone know if there is a way that it could alert and open up when my tones go, and then broadcast the channel? All it is doing right now is beep when my tones go off.

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top