Beefy

I live on vancouver island ladysmith area and they have switched to digital

wondering what radio i would need......
I am currently a ham radio operator.......Call sign Ve7gwt

Thanks for any input......

BC_Scan

Ain't gonna happen

Are you just finding this out now ? this of course happened a while back ,
So what does it mean to be a ham ?? does that automatically give you permission to listen to encrypted signals over anyone else ??
you would need a Motorola XTS5000
and the encryption key would be available here... just flash em your callsign
Royal Canadian Mounted Police - Welcome | Gendarmerie royale du Canada - Bienvenue

Jay911

Silent Key (April 15th, 2023)
Feed Provider
BC_Scan, there's no need to be mouthy or rude. Don't make me get out the moderator stick.

Beefy: Without knowing what frequency you're listening to and/or what modulation they're using, it's hard to give you a definite answer. But the most likely answer is that you'll need only a regular old digital scanner such as a Uniden BCD396T (or BC396XT, coming out in about 2-3 months) or the GRE PSR-500. That is true if they are using regular P25 digital modulation, on their existing VHF channels or on any other band/system, unless they have gone to encryption. If they have, there's no listening to them, period.

davidmc36: I sincerely doubt that a mid-Vancouver Island detachment would join the ECOMM EDACS trunk system which is based in the Vancouver metro area. The system just doesn't have the range for that.

stuck22

Premium Subscriber
All the Vancouver Island RCMP departments (not on CREST) have been or will be switched over to P25 encrypted. This means that no digital scanner of any kind can monitor it.

electricsheep

Beefy

Hey Thanks everyone for the info........thanks to stuck22 and jay911...not sure about what modulation there useing........

Ve7gwt Glenn in ladysmith.....

xjf79

Yikes

ahhh why do I have to get into this mess hahaha
even though Im not a ham :D