Very new ... need a push in the right direction

Status
Not open for further replies.

rassy7

Hi, I am a photographer and love aviation photography. I use a VHF scanner to scan weather and civil aviation freqs all the time which help me better position myself to get the shot(s) I want. What I'm facing now, is an airport with an ANG side. I would love to hear the military aircrft transmissions as well but they are UHF and use different freqs my scanner doesn't cover. I'm looking for a cheap (< $100) scanner that will hopefully provide decent range, receive UHF freqs and the proper band for military aircraft (I think it's somewhere between 225 and the hight 300s or 400). Like I said, I'm very new and stumbled upon this scanning idea as a means to position myself for photography, but I have become as addicted to just listening as I possibly can with this scanner. I'm afraid "hobby" is on the doorstep for me.

I read a few other posts on this forum and a recommended handheld (would prefer a handheld) was the Pro 46. It's old and can apparently only be found on eBay. Is this good for what I'm wanting? Are there other, better options?

Thanks for any help,

~Josh

CalebATC

Welcome to military air!

Well, I started flying, then I started listening with a handheld, then stationary milair, then I started getting into ham radio, and now I'm about to upgrade to my Amateur General licence (Still flying, obviously!)...... trust me... you will probably get into Amateur. Just prepare to open up the wallet :)

Well, their are many different scanners out their that will do the job. My favorite it the Radio Shack PRO-164 Triple Truncker. It does wonderful at everything. Usually, I just listen to VHF/UHF Tower, Ground, and Clearance when spotting, but I have two other banks for 1) APP/DEP (TRACON) 2) base/airport security.