VHF Marine Antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

baybum

Does anyone have recommendations for a lower profile (less than the 8' whips) VHF marine antenna. For TX and RX, 25 watts and under.
First hand knowledge reports/recommendations are preferred.

Thanks

mass-man

trying to retire...
Premium Subscriber
Where you gonna use the antenna?...marine VHF antennas are big because usually there is no ground plane under them on a fiberglass boat. If you’re planning a installation at your home there are options...but I have no direct knowledge of them! I’ve just seen them on dockside buildings.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
The 'sail boat' antennas can be a good option. They are a 1/2 wave design, so don't require a ground plane under them. They are also about 4 feet tall.

The fiberglass whips are usually a coaxial antenna stuffed in the tube, and are often around 8 feet long. But you get what you pay for. The cheap ones are just stripped back coaxial cable stuffed in the tube. The better ones actually have metal elements that stay in place.

A recommendation would require knowing where you were going to use it, what sort of mount you want, etc.

As always, avoid the cheap Chinese knockoff antennas from Tram/Browning and the unpronounceable brand names. Since lives can depend on reaching help in an emergency, low cost should not be your first priority unless this is for monitoring use.

sflmonitor

Premium Subscriber
I have used the Metz marine antennas for years and find them to be reliable and function very well for their size. They are built tough and all connections are soldered (except coax of course).

baybum

All very good information, thank you. I should have mentioned that I am a HAM radio guy and know antenna theory, and have had boats for the last 40 years, but never used anything but the 8' Shakespeare's.
Looking to mount one of the shorter antennas on a new boat, center console, windshield rail. Will be using a hand-held.
Just wondering who has used what.

Thanks