• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

VHF Uplink Frequencies and Tower Locations

Status
Not open for further replies.

mnovia

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
5
I am wondering if anyone has a bag of tricks for finding out what the uplink on VHF would be without traveling to the town and checking the spectrum analyzer... I am looking for a way to do this online with FCC search or a similar tool.

It would also be really nice to pinpoint transmitter locations for UHF and VHF using the FCC search or a similar tool. I have had SOME success with this, but often, several locations are listed in the license and they turn out to be either the PD, FD, or some guys house...not the transmitter location.
 

lmrtek

Active Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
535
The FCC geographical search will list the exact location of transmitters not just the contact info
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,402
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
It would also be really nice to pinpoint transmitter locations for UHF and VHF using the FCC search or a similar tool. I have had SOME success with this, but often, several locations are listed in the license and they turn out to be either the PD, FD, or some guys house...not the transmitter location.
This is because the transmitter location on FCC license applications is often wrong.
The FCC geographical search will list the exact location of transmitters
No, it shows the location that was entered on the licence application which may or may not be correct. The FCC has no idea if the information is correct, a typo, or intentionally misleading. It doesn't look like they even attempt to verify it.
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,402
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
I am wondering if anyone has a bag of tricks for finding out what the uplink on VHF would be without traveling to the town and checking the spectrum analyzer... I am looking for a way to do this online with FCC search or a similar tool.
It depends on the type of system and radio service. Base stations and repeaters will have a station class code that starts with FB. Mobile stations will start with MO. Control stations (base stations that transmit on the repeater input frequency) usually have station class FX1.

VHF generally has no standard offset. If a license has several repeater frequencies at the same location or the same frequencies at several locations it is often not possible to determine which input and output frequencies are paired together by looking at the license. On UHF and 700/800/900 MHz this is not the case because those bands have standard offsets.
 

WA0CBW

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,446
Location
Shawnee Kansas (Kansas City)
As nd5y said there is no "physical" checking by the FCC or the licensing coordinator other than paper checking. This causes real havoc when either a mistake was made on the application or a licensee just decided to move the transmitter to a different location. Then when the coordinator is issuing a frequency it meets the distance requirements to co-frequencies and adjacent frequencies. However it really isn't. I have seen the FCC issue some hefty fines and loss of the frequency to the offender. Fortunately most radio shops do a pretty good job of checking the license properties with the actual properties.
BB
 

mnovia

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
5
Thanks For Responses

Thanks, the FX1 info was helpful.

I also didn't realize you can turn on the uplink frequencies in the freq search at the top of the page...I don't think these are 100% accurate, but better than nothing.

As for the transmitter location, yes, I think there are HUGE inaccuracies on the FCC website. You are seeing the FD or PD address, or the home address of the license filer in a lot of cases. One of the problems is that the towers often do not have a street address...they are off of a parking lot, or an unpaved access road with no name...the FCC should have used GPS coords instead of street address.
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,402
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
Tthe FCC should have used GPS coords instead of street address.
They do. All radio services with site based licensing require latitude/longitude coordinates of the transmitter locations when applying for frequency coordination and licenses. Often the coordinates provided by the applicants are wrong.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top