VSP Division 7 and STARS

Status
Not open for further replies.

richrisdon

Good afternoon, I am sort of a new user to programming a Pro 96 but a long time scanner listener. I am really about to pull out my hair on STARS. I also use win96 software.

I have read as much as I can, and am really confused.

I live in Alexandria Va. and would like to listen to STARS. I would like to continue to listen to Va State Police along with everything else on STARS, both inside the beltway as well as outside the beltway. Does this mean I will need to program 2 different Banks in the PRO 96 Scanner? I also understand I need to create a custom table for STARS, is this system MOT 3600 CC or a 9600 CC? Any other information you can share will really be a help. I have tried to read everything I can find on this but there is no easy way.

I believe I need to get a copy of PRO 96 for dummies if there is one.

kg4ivt

Premium Subscriber
I'm no expert when it comes to the 96 and STARS but when I lived in the Richmond area and first put it in my scanner a few years ago, all I did was follow the instructions on this link:

Trunktrackers and STARS - The RadioReference Wiki

Then I added in the Control Channels I could hear and the talkgroups I wanted as you normally would. At the moment, I'm in Prince William county and can't hear a peep out of anything on VHF as far as STARS control channels are concerned. From what I understand, STARS isn't completely built out and/or operational in this area at the moment. I ran Pro96Com on one of the CC's I could hear before Christmas and was only seeing 2-3 testing talkgroups coming up anyways so you're going to have to wait until it's fully online in the Northern Virginia area. For the time being, I have the 4 common (158.985/159.000/159.135/159.165 all CSQ) frequencies in the same bank as my STARS bank so I can listen to VSP up here. I can email you my Win96 programming file if you'd like, just PM me your address.

Hope this helps!

Last edited:

fmon