• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

VX2200 Reboots when programming

patmeaden

Newbie
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
4
Location
Poughkeepsie, NY
I got a VX2200 from a local school district a year or two ago and just got around to programming it. whenever the radio is on and the programming cable is connected to both the radio, the radio reboots reboots. I'm using an old PC power supply at 12v, and the programming cable that I got with it (which I'm told was used to program then when the school got them).
 

MBill

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
166
I would check that you are getting enough amps out of the PC power supply. You need at least 15 amps for a VHF model and 10 amps
for a UHF model for 20 watts for transmitting. Don't recall how much amps for receive\programming, ( I think around 3 to 5 to amps) but your power supply should be able to put out at least 10 amps to be on the safe side. Also the radio is rated for a 13.8 volts supply.
 

patmeaden

Newbie
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
4
Location
Poughkeepsie, NY
I would check that you are getting enough amps out of the PC power supply. You need at least 15 amps for a VHF model and 10 amps
for a UHF model for 20 watts for transmitting. Don't recall how much amps for receive\programming, ( I think around 3 to 5 to amps) but your power supply should be able to put out at least 10 amps to be on the safe side. Also the radio is rated for a 13.8 volts supply.
its currently running on 12v at 18.5A, but ill see about getting 13.8V
 

n3obl

Ø
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,106
Location
PA
Some aftermarket cables don't work well with the vertex and cause the radio to continuous reboot. Will probably need an OEM cable.
 

radiotweester

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
192
Location
Oregon
I agree with the potential cable issue. Is the cable serial or USB? Make sure you read, save, edit, rename and save and write back. Also, plug in the cable and power the radio up only when the CE82 tells you to. I'm not sure how or if the Motorola
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
1,843
its currently running on 12v at 18.5A, but ill see about getting 13.8V
The power supply is pushing 18.5A when you program it, or its capable of pushing 18.5a on the 12v rail?

I have made many a bench supply out of old ATX power supplies, and few and far between will push the 12v rail much over 12.2v w/o some resistance...with most hovering at 11.9v. They are not terribly great for radios, and usually crap when you start to TX on them. The RF wreaks havoc on them if you don't have a great radio antenna/grounding setup.

The 13.8v usually referenced comes from a standard alternator charging voltage of 13.8v to 14.2v in a running infernal combustion engine, and radios will usually run just fine on a resting lead acid battery voltage of 12.4v-ish, so you might not find one that is designed to put out 13.8v for a bench supply.

I join the "question the cable" club.
 
Top