Wake County P25 switch

Cody7311

Newbie
Feed Provider
Joined
Aug 9, 2021
Messages
3
Hey everyone. Apologies for the newbie question, however I just got a Whistler WS-1065, and have been able to get VIPER working. However I set up both the Cary and Wake sites up as P25 Auto sites with the control channels and I have no audio at all yet the reception meter appears okay. It shows as a p25 phase one system is that correct or is this system not compatible with the scanner? Thank you all for any help you may be able to provide
 

OnYourSix

NY --> NC
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 25, 2009
Messages
39
Location
Raleigh, NC
Cary, Apex, and Morrisville Police are encrypted. You should be able to hear the CAM Fire Alerting though as well as all the PS TAC channels.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
6,081
Location
Raleigh, NC
I just got a Whistler WS-1065, and have been able to get VIPER working. However I set up both the Cary and Wake sites up as P25 Auto sites with the control channels and I have no audio at all yet the reception meter appears okay. It shows as a p25 phase one system is that correct or is this system not compatible with the scanner?
Yes, the new Wake system is a P25 Phase 1 system and while the WS1065 is able to receive a P25 P1 system the issue may be the dreaded simulcast distortion problem.

Did you try to program it manually or through software with a Radio Reference Import? Seeing you aren't a premium member I'm guessing you did it manually which may have caused the problem. Also, the Cary and Wake towers are totally different though they use the same core, make sure you aren't trying to mix them as they have different control and alt freqs and TGs.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
6,081
Location
Raleigh, NC
Cary, Apex, and Morrisville Police are encrypted. You should be able to hear the CAM Fire Alerting though as well as all the PS TAC channels.
If he is trying to listen to the Wake tower site two he will not be picking up CAM PD or Cary PS Tac at all.
 

Cody7311

Newbie
Feed Provider
Joined
Aug 9, 2021
Messages
3
Yes, the new Wake system is a P25 Phase 1 system and while the WS1065 is able to receive a P25 P1 system the issue may be the dreaded simulcast distortion problem.

Did you try to program it manually or through software with a Radio Reference Import? Seeing you aren't a premium member I'm guessing you did it manually which may have caused the problem. Also, the Cary and Wake towers are totally different though they use the same core, make sure you aren't trying to mix them as they have different control and alt freqs and TGs.
I did try to do it manually, I did ensure that the sites were separated into different systems. I may try to do it through the import if all else fails as I am getting no audio still.

I will most likely upgrade to premium I need to order a programming cable. Is it most likely something that I have to physically update in terms of the firmware? Because I got the viper system to work no problem.

Thank you again for any help
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
6,081
Location
Raleigh, NC
I did try to do it manually, I did ensure that the sites were separated into different systems.

Is it most likely something that I have to physically update in terms of the firmware?
I wouldn't think the FW is the issue, it might be the band plan though.

-Tables
#Format: Table ID,Base Freq,Spacing,Input Offset,Assumed/Confirmed,BandWidth,Slots
00,851.00625,0.00625,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1
01,762.00625,0.00625,30.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1
02,851.01250,0.01250,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,2
03,762.00625,0.01250,30.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,2
04,935.01250,0.01250,-39.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1
05,935.01250,0.01250,-39.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,2
 

K4XOR

Newbie
Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
3
Welcome, @Cody7311! :) In general, I believe it's worth confirming your scanner is on its newest firmware version. These updates can include improvements to decoding, among many things.

But since you are receiving VIPER well, and they are both P25 Phase 1 systems, I have a hunch you may be facing the same simulcast issues I am. My GRE PSR-500 is actually decoding the new system's control channel reasonably well, but voice channel audio mostly stays muted.

I will be attempting to resolve this with a Yagi antenna near the end of the year, and will definitely report back how this works for me. For the time being I have disabled the new Wake system in my scanner, as it's mostly just wasting time trying to get tiny blips of audio, while no doubt missing clear VIPER conversations.
 

Cody7311

Newbie
Feed Provider
Joined
Aug 9, 2021
Messages
3
I wouldn't think the FW is the issue, it might be the band plan though.

-Tables
#Format: Table ID,Base Freq,Spacing,Input Offset,Assumed/Confirmed,BandWidth,Slots
00,851.00625,0.00625,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1
01,762.00625,0.00625,30.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1
02,851.01250,0.01250,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,2
03,762.00625,0.01250,30.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,2
04,935.01250,0.01250,-39.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1
05,935.01250,0.01250,-39.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,2
I have the ARC500 software. I am not seeing a place anywhere to enter these values? Any advice?

Thank you
 

yardbird

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
896
Location
Concord, NC
Just a heads up!

I came through Raleigh today on the way to Greenville.

No traffic being heard across the old Type II System.

Had to listen to Wake and Raleigh Fire on the conventional VHF Channels.

Had a whole lot of static unlike the old trunking system.

Sort of got away from the Zebulon area couldn't receive much on VHF.

David
 

drayd48

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
462
Location
Statesville NC
Just a heads up!

I came through Raleigh today on the way to Greenville.

No traffic being heard across the old Type II System.

Had to listen to Wake and Raleigh Fire on the conventional VHF Channels.

Had a whole lot of static unlike the old trunking system.

Sort of got away from the Zebulon area couldn't receive much on VHF.

David
Yep, the old type II system is shut down now. On a note for traveling I-85/I-40 to and from Wake County, I start receiving the new system now around the Alamance/Guilford line on a mobile radio with some issues and it becomes about 100% clear halfway through Alamance county. Defiantly an improvement from the old system where it only reached to the I-40/I-85 split in Orange County.
 

Chris0516

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
488
Location
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Yep, the old type II system is shut down now. On a note for traveling I-85/I-40 to and from Wake County, I start receiving the new system now around the Alamance/Guilford line on a mobile radio with some issues and it becomes about 100% clear halfway through Alamance county. Defiantly an improvement from the old system where it only reached to the I-40/I-85 split in Orange County.
That is good to know.
 

deputyb716

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
15
Just curious if anyone knows when RR will update their database with the new P25 info?? I'm trying to update my patrol car scanner using my ARC software, but I can't locate the new sites or TGID's in the database.
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
6,081
Location
Raleigh, NC
Busy morning on the new system...

Nights of Lights Marathon in Dorothy Dix Park on Event 6 TG 46844
Raleigh Christmas Parade Downtown Event 7 TG 46845
Wake Forest Fire doing testing/training of new equipment on WF Fire Ops TG 47245

Other event TGs are being used on an as needed basis but not as primary
 
Last edited:

Chris0516

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
488
Location
Pittsboro, North Carolina
In Proscan, I spit the new system 'Cary/Wake25', into two separate 'systems'. Using the different CC/ACCs'. When I run the Recorder, Cary FD(part of the second system) plays fine, even though it is further. But Wake is not playing at all.
 
Last edited:

JohnDistai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 10, 2010
Messages
85
Is there an updated reference for 10 codes? I have a (very old) list for Raleigh from RR, but often the context of the call doesn't seem to match what's on the list. Does anyone have any better information on these?
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
6,081
Location
Raleigh, NC
Is there an updated reference for 10 codes? I have a (very old) list for Raleigh from RR, but often the context of the call doesn't seem to match what's on the list. Does anyone have any better information on these?
It would be nice to get an updated copy, but honestly the only Raleigh change I've noticed is "CODE 7" which is now dead body. I'd love to get them for other local agencies which don't match up to Raleigh's 10 Codes, like WSO, NCSU PD, RDU PD, Legislative PD, & State Capitol PD.
 
Top