Waterloo, Iowa: Radio switch has police signing off

Status
Not open for further replies.

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Super Moderator
WATERLOO – Chuck Angel dusted off a half dozen radios from his collection and put them on a table.

The oldest was a Regency Monitoradio Executive Scanner from the 1970s that houses crystals within its faux wood grain metal case.

“That was from back in the days when scanners just started out. … I’ve still got more. I just have to figure out where they went. I’ve been playing with this stuff for over 50 years,” said Angel, a John Deere retiree who is active in ham radio and is a Red Cross radio officer.

Radio switch has police signing off | Crime and Courts | wcfcourier.com

slicerwizard

Scanner apps cited again...

If nothing else, apps on cellphones are making it easy for LE to justify encryption.

Sheriff Thompson said the law enforcement agencies are moving to encryption for safety reasons now that more people than ever have access to their radio broadcasts. In the past, listening in meant buying a scanner. Now, anyone with a smart phone can pull up a free scanner app.“If you are a burglar, and you are breaking into a house, you set your phone up to scan our frequency and with a 20- to 30-second delay, you can hear the dispatch of the call, you can hear the responding unit. … You can pretty well estimate our response times,” Thompson said.

“We’ve got people that have committed burglaries with scanner apps. We’ve stopped drug dealers with the scanner apps.

rbrtklamp2

Premium Subscriber