West Palm Beach Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Muxlow

Super Secret
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
1,400
Location
Middlesex County
I have a friend in West Palm Beach, He has a Astro Spectra 800mhz and it has the correct connect tone and all the tower control and alt control channels programmed into it. Radio has about 10 talkgroups so he can monitor his sheriff office. There is no need for him to TX.
Issuse is. All the control channels are in but he is getting Site 7 showing when he pushes the SITE button, The Boca Raton site in the closest to him but he says its only on Site 1 County and he gets no action.

Scan list is setup and the system is set as WAC AMSS with PTT affiliation set.

Is there different site info or whatnot then RR shows? He dont have a scanner to run Unitrunker or anything to match his settings. I live no place close to him so cant really help all too much. Just looking for anyone in that area who has monitored them that could help out.

Is there a check box or something he missed during programming maybe?
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,886
Location
Central Ontario
Site numbers only work in Smartzone.

If he checks, he'll probably find the frequency he's landed on is the 7th frequency in the list of frequencies programmed into the radio.
 

ermin

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
358
Location
Jacksonville Florida
I have a friend in West Palm Beach, He has a Astro Spectra 800mhz and it has the correct connect tone and all the tower control and alt control channels programmed into it. Radio has about 10 talkgroups so he can monitor his sheriff office. There is no need for him to TX.
Issuse is. All the control channels are in but he is getting Site 7 showing when he pushes the SITE button, The Boca Raton site in the closest to him but he says its only on Site 1 County and he gets no action.

Scan list is setup and the system is set as WAC AMSS with PTT affiliation set.

Is there different site info or whatnot then RR shows? He dont have a scanner to run Unitrunker or anything to match his settings. I live no place close to him so cant really help all too much. Just looking for anyone in that area who has monitored them that could help out.

Is there a check box or something he missed during programming maybe?
Hello

Not sure how to word this but if he is not a county employee he does not have the "key" to affiliate with the system and the radio will not follow the conversations.

As far as I know one cannot just buy a 800 Mhz trunked transciever, program in some talk groups and frequencies and just have it work. It is not that simple. Works on a scanner receiver but not what he is trying to use.

73 Ermin
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,886
Location
Central Ontario
Ermin, people use "unauthorized" Motorola radios to follow trunking systems everyday and yes, people can just buy an 800MHz trunked transceiver and just have it work. It requires a little bit of effort but it is doable.
 

JANFINE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
223
Location
MIRAMAR, FL
Boca

I don't know where you guys get this stuff.
Boca is on site 2 not site 1. You have to have site 2 in or you will not hear anything.
They are on a digital system. If the system administrator sees a unauthorized radio on the system he will put your radio to sleep and you will not be able to use it or fix it.


I have a friend in West Palm Beach, He has a Astro Spectra 800mhz and it has the correct connect tone and all the tower control and alt control channels programmed into it. Radio has about 10 talkgroups so he can monitor his sheriff office. There is no need for him to TX.
Issuse is. All the control channels are in but he is getting Site 7 showing when he pushes the SITE button, The Boca Raton site in the closest to him but he says its only on Site 1 County and he gets no action.

Scan list is setup and the system is set as WAC AMSS with PTT affiliation set.

Is there different site info or whatnot then RR shows? He dont have a scanner to run Unitrunker or anything to match his settings. I live no place close to him so cant really help all too much. Just looking for anyone in that area who has monitored them that could help out.

Is there a check box or something he missed during programming maybe?
 

Seadoo

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
165
Yes, KS4VT will inhibit your radio in a heart beat if he see's a radio on his system that does not belong on it. He is a good guy and gives good info, but don't try to play with his system.
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,207
Rumor here is he doesn't sleep at night unless he inhibits at least 3 unauthorized radios a day.
It's more like 3 a month to be honest. But I do sleep well as I have the ability to research historical records for around a year. :D
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
269
Location
Clearwater, Fl.
Hello

Not sure how to word this but if he is not a county employee he does not have the "key" to affiliate with the system and the radio will not follow the conversations.

As far as I know one cannot just buy a 800 Mhz trunked transciever, program in some talk groups and frequencies and just have it work. It is not that simple. Works on a scanner receiver but not what he is trying to use.

73 Ermin
Its called "keygen". A DOS application, and can make any key for any system prior to ASTRO 25 CPS. Good luck finding it thow LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top