What’s your favorite thing to scan?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkaskavitch

Police department’s are dropping like flies. Denver PD, Aurora PD and even the Denver Fire Department. I’ve grown up listening to public safety and throughly enjoyed listen to DPD for the past six years.

With all these systems going encrypted I have a simple question: what do I listen to now?

Post up your favorite agencies and tell me why it’s great to monitor...

Station51

In a word "Nothing"
In the Land of Encryption its now more like "what will I settle to listen to", in my case that's the California Highway Patrol and Cal Fire which provides county fire protection in my area. I grew up listening to LAPD which is now P25, but I don't live in that area anymore.
I prefer to listen to "local" relevant communications. I'm a ham radio operator so I now spend about 80% of my radio time listening to ham radio.
Been listening since the mid 60's and have heard a lot of interesting radio traffic, It was great while it lasted.

spongella

Premium Subscriber
Local First Responder comms, let's me know what's going on in the community.

56FB666

Bear Caretaker
When all the others have already been sold and I haven't packed everything yet. There is President Jackson II is on 24/7 at 27,555Mhz. When it comes to traffic there is a microfon in hand in less than a second :giggle:

eyes00only

I just setup a folder with all the SAID Patches, MAC, Color Coded (Red NW, etc.), Conventional (FERN, etc.) talkgroups.
Also Elitches, Coors Field, etc.

potala1369

Premium Subscriber
With the loss of the Lawrence, MA PD to the 'Big E', I have focused my listening activities to the Lawrence FD and the Lawrence General Hospital's ambulance service. Both usually respond to PD calls. I also monitor various MA State Police trunked frequencies as the MSP does spend a lot of time in the city due to drug and gang activities.

captncarp