What are you Custom Search Ranges?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caesar

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
245
Location
Cayce, SC
I am setting up the custom search ranges in my scanners and was wondering what many of you have/use.

The radio can hold 10, but the radio already has 12 service searches, so i am at a loss for what to add.

(just fyi this is for my BCD396T/BR330T/BCT-15)
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,965
Location
West of Charlotte NC
It depends, I change my custom range on my pro97 on the fly. Juts the other day I wanted to check out some RR activity, and forgot what RR goes by my house (used to live next to a CSX, now next to a NS line, always got them confused :D) so I hand programmed the range as 160-162 and got what I needed.

I have also had a 866-869.9875 when searching for new NC VIPER CCs.
 

LEH

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
1,451
Location
Yorktown, Virginia
My custom search will vary. If I'm traveling and sitting in the airport, I'll enter 460 range to see which airlines are still using the older UHF systems for ramp and gate comms. When in the hotel, I'll enter the basic range for hotel ops (see who didn't get clean towels) or search news dispatch channels for news or traffic reports.

That's the nice thing on the custom capability, you can change it to meet the current need.
 

cubn

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,271
Location
Marion/Johnson County, IN
BC246T
(used mostly for searching for public safety and business pl tones)
453-454
460-460.7
460.7-470
151-160
451-453
451-460

BCD396T
(used mostly to search for TRS system id's and site numbers)
774-776--step size 6.25khz
850-869
935-941
If I traveled to an area with a military base, I'd put in the federal trunked ranges
 

bassmkenk2508

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
519
Location
Murfreesboro, TN
I use the following for all around interests.

138-144
148-174 (with WX muted ;) )
225-400
406-420
450-470
162.56-174 (quick VHF fed searches)

I may have a couple of others, forgot.

Yes, kind of general ranges, but can be useful at times on a 396 :D
 

mciupa

Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
7,263
The "unspoken" ranges are cordless phones obviously.
No one will admit to it publicly though.:roll:
 

n2ops

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
213
Location
Mount Morris NY
My Search Ranges

Public Safety:
Low Band: (alse great for catching sporodic e)
33.02-33.98 @.020
37.02-37.42 @.020
39.02-39.98 @.020
42.02-42.94 @.020 Many state police here
44.62-46.58 @.020
47.02-47.66 @.020
High Band:
153.740-154.445 @.015
154.650-156.240 @.015
156.250-157.425 @.025 Marine
158.730-159.465 @.015
UHF:
453.0125-453.9875 @.0125
460.0125-460.6750 @.0125

These ranges will not catch the newer refarmed frequencies, but will work for most.
 

bassmkenk2508

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
519
Location
Murfreesboro, TN
The "unspoken" ranges are cordless phones obviously.
No one will admit to it publicly though.:roll:
well, yea, 902 to 9-something. heh. not hard to determine what they are, especially with Close Call and similar functions. i may have it programmed, cant remember since i kind of been in the trough of custom searching as of late.
 
Last edited:

reconrider8

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
2,575
Location
Eastern, NC
ok i have a bct15 and when it does the custom searches it might stop on 1 that has just static what do you do to make it only stop on channels that are active
 

reconrider8

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
2,575
Location
Eastern, NC
yea channels but what would you set the sqelch at like if its to high it will just run over the channel wouldnt it?
 

Caesar

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
245
Location
Cayce, SC
yea channels but what would you set the sqelch at like if its to high it will just run over the channel wouldnt it?
on the bct-15 when searching i would have the notch pointing straight up (12 o'clock position) ... when scanning program frequencies i keep it at about the 9 o'clock position.
 

Caesar

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
245
Location
Cayce, SC
I simply search:

100.000-199.000 Mhz
400.000-499.000 Mhz
800.000-899.000 Mhz
900.000-956.000 Mhz
you must live in the sticks or have the ATT on with squelch way up. it would take all day long to make it through all those frequencies where i live! lol
 

reconrider8

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
2,575
Location
Eastern, NC
but if you have it at 9oclock i pick up so much static like that like every other channel it hits it stops with just static
 

radiopro52

Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
228
Location
North Alabama
you must live in the sticks or have the ATT on with squelch way up. it would take all day long to make it through all those frequencies where i live! lol
I live somewhat in the sticks. There are some towns closeby. But when I search, the things I pick up most is static and other tones. Not much in the way radio talk.
 

bassmkenk2508

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
519
Location
Murfreesboro, TN
Yea, my ranges I have set (previous post, up the page) are general in all regards. TV bands are not inlcluded in mine.

Others reading can pitch in opinions. Mine would cover the good stuff: business, public safety (outside of 700/800 bands), and mil/fed, but yet eliminate some TV/cable "noise" that you may encounter while scanning your ranges. I use a bcd396t, so 800 public safety is pre-programmed.

Each to his/her own in ranges, but some chunks of your bands may cover portions of the spectrum which most wouldn't find interesting nor contain voice transmissions.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top