What "book" do you recommend for total newbies to the Hobby?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mobilman44

Hi,
I'm a relative newbie to the hobby, and find that even the simplified manual (Uniden 436) is filled with unfamiliar jargon and acronyms and terms. I'm a retired business analyst, very adept mechanically, but woefully short on electronics/radio expertise.

My goal in getting the Uniden 436 was "simply" to listen to area law/emergency/CB transmissions, and I'm not looking (at this time) to become an "expert" in the hobby. But I would like to be able to get the most out of the scanner, and to be honest, with the least amount of effort.

I've found this forum and some "YouTube" presentations very helpful, but of course the unfamiliar jargon exists everywhere.

So, in that light, is there a book/manual out there that would shed some light?

reconrider8

honestly i just figured out how to program my stuff then slowly took on more and more parts of my first scanner and then learned what each part did and what it was and how it affected my listening and thats how i learned. im not sure there are any "books" out there that explain stuff. but you can use your resource here and people will help ya out also

cmjonesinc

Premium Subscriber
Don't be afraid to ask questions. We were all new at one point. If you post your specific area others can chime in and tell you what's available to monitor and how to go about doing so. Some areas that have multiple radio systems in place can be a bit confusing for new people.

Mobilman44

Thank you all for your help and understanding. Yup, at some point everyone is a "newbie" in any hobby/job for sure.

I do have one big question, and I'll ask that on a separate thread........

Mobilman44

Have to add.......... I'm realizing more and more that there is a truckload of info on this site.

GB46