what to expect with my new SDS100?

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxxkatt

Maxx Katt, once upon time artist.
I have a SDS100 coming next tue. I will have a Tram 1411 Broad Band Discone/Scanner Base Antenna in the Attic of my two story home, 50 foot of

Wilson Electronics 50 ft. Black WILSON-400 Ultra Low Loss Coax Cable. Mobile will be a WILSON 305-38 300-Watt Little Wil Magnet Mount Antenna CB antenna to receive truckers on CB bands.

Looking through the SDS100 manual and the "easier" manual the SDS100 appears quite complex especially compared to my Regency 100 scanner of many, many years ago.

So I am basically a total newbie to the digital world of scanners. Any other recent newbies to the SDS100 and digital scanning have some advice or let me now how they handled what I expect will be a steep learning curve?

jtwalker

Premium Subscriber
You should buy my book, "What to Expect When You Are Expecting ... a New Uniden SDS Scanner".

A CB antenna in your car will be good for receiving CB frequencies, but not much else. Is that your intent?

The discone should be fairly good at home and the LMR400 cable was a good choice.

Zip code programming will get you something to listen to day 1, but you will need to learn how to set up your favorites lists.

WX4JCW

Premium Subscriber
for the SDS series a Austin Spectra really does a good job, I have had one on my semi for years

maxxkatt

You should buy my book, "What to Expect When You Are Expecting ... a New Uniden SDS Scanner".

A CB antenna in your car will be good for receiving CB frequencies, but not much else. Is that your intent?

The discone should be fairly good at home and the LMR400 cable was a good choice.

Zip code programming will get you something to listen to day 1, but you will need to learn how to set up your favorites lists.
Yes, main reason for mobile is on trips on Interstate Highways listen to truckers for road information and they can be entertaining.