What's the best source of information one can find in Anchorage during a grid shutdown?

Status
Not open for further replies.

anchorage-avi

Hi all, I live in Anchorage. I am totally new to anything radio related. I would like to hear from local folks what would work for me should the power go out and should I want to hear information on what is happening nearby or regionally. For example, I was advised by a few radio sales websites that I called (and You Tube videos) to get a hold of a digital scanner like the Uniden Home Patrol. They don't know Alaska so I'm asking on here if that would yield me any broadcasts in event of emergency. I realize lots of Muni went encrypted but would the digital scanner have any helpful chatter in times of duress?

Also, to add to the Uniden Home Patrol, I was advised to get something like a President Lincoln with added CB capability. They said get both.

My thinking is that, whether or not I can hear official broadcasts from business or municipality, there would be every-day people using CB, SSB and various other frequencies to discuss what is happening and other problem solving things that come up in local/regional emergencies. I'm not familiar (I apologize) with what VHF, UHF, HF, LF or Ham radio is but I would think that folks would also broadcast on there any information that would be helpful in emergencies. Is that true in your local experience?

So in sum, which units would be best suited for Anchorage - and why? Which bands/frequencies would they utilize and receive?

Is the Uniden Home Patrol and the President Lincoln the way to go? Is either a total waste of money/time for this area?

What works for you (and why)?

Any local experience will be totally golden for me to know what to look into.

Thanks so much!

Best wishes,

Avi in Anchorage, AK (Abbot Loop)

kikito

Premium Subscriber
Hello,