Where to Begin

Status
Not open for further replies.

rdubs8080

Hi everyone. This is all pretty new to me and I am eager to learn more about scanning and becoming a licensed amateur. I have registered for my FRN and will be working on taking the exam shortly. I have some general questions on how to pick up chatter as I cant seem to pick up anything on my radio.

Any tips or advice on how to get started? I have not yet programmed anything utilizing the USB cord, but wasnt sure it was needed or not.

Again, just a beginner here, but any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

ladn

Explorer of the Frequency Spectrum
Premium Subscriber
Southern California and sometimes Owens Valley
Hi everyone. This is all pretty new to me and I am eager to learn more about scanning and becoming a licensed amateur. I have registered for my FRN and will be working on taking the exam shortly. I have some general questions on how to pick up chatter as I cant seem to pick up anything on my radio.

Any tips or advice on how to get started? I have not yet programmed anything utilizing the USB cord, but wasnt sure it was needed or not.

Again, just a beginner here, but any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Welcome to RR!

You've asked a very wide open question about not picking up anything on your radio. To give you a meaningful answer we need to know what "radio" you have and your general location. Most radios need to be programmed with frequencies for a specific location. The preset frequencies (channels) installed in the radio may not be valid for your location.

rdubs8080

Welcome to RR!

You've asked a very wide open question about not picking up anything on your radio. To give you a meaningful answer we need to know what "radio" you have and your general location. Most radios need to be programmed with frequencies for a specific location. The preset frequencies (channels) installed in the radio may not be valid for your location.