Where to buy a radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vet0910

Hello there, can someone guide me to a few REPUTABLE dealers (other than Amazon) that sell HAM radios and equipment ? I am brand new to Amateur Radio. Thank you!

sallen07

Premium Subscriber

K4EET

Chaplain
Premium Subscriber
Hello there, can someone guide me to a few REPUTABLE dealers (other than Amazon) that sell HAM radios and equipment ? I am brand new to Amateur Radio. Thank you!
FWIW, I don’t really consider Amazon an Amateur Radio Dealer. As a new ham, and even seasoned hams alike, we rely on the knowledge of the dealers to help us make the right decisions when it comes to purchasing ham gear. There are a lot of high dollar choices out there competing for our hard earned dollars and even for the low dollar accessories, purchasing the right stuff can be a maze without knowledgeable purchasing assistance.

Most Amazon “stores” that sell ham related items really shouldn’t be selling anything ham related simply because most of them have no clue what they are selling to begin with. If you think I’m kidding, pick one of those CCR (Cheap Chinese Radio) sellers and ask if their “xyz” brand radio can do the most common triangle modulation. You’ll be surprised at how many will either say “Yes” or “I’m sure it does!” LOL 😂

So a few tidbits of advice.
1. Steer clear of CCRs if possible. Several reputable ham brands have sub $100 radios and even more if you are willing to accept “open-box,” “B-Stock,” or “Pre-Owned” equipment.
2. Buy from established Amateur Radio dealerships. Not only do you need their knowledge before you purchase the item(s), you may have additional questions once you receive the item(s) and you may need their assistance for an in-warranty or out-of-warranty claim. Try getting that from Amazon 2 years down the road. Some sellers are not even there 2 months post-sale!