Where to get a coax crimper

Status
Not open for further replies.

ASAD

Hi all. I'm trying to buy a crimper for RG-58, LMR-240 and LMR-400 cables. When I google this I see crimping tools mostly for TV cables. Could someone tell me where to get such thing as one-fits-all? I'm not a pro, so it doesn't have to be that expensive.

Since I'm posting this, I'd like some insight on N connectors types; solder, compression and crimp as to which one is stronger.

Thanks

jeatock

Premium Subscriber
You get what you pay for. If you don't do more than a couple dozen a year it's a balance between function and budget.

I use these Greenlee CrimpALL Crimper Frame Only, Series PA8000 - - Amazon.com (or the Paladin equivalent) with replaceable / interchangeable dies. The dies are pretty standard and should work between crimpers from different manufacturers. I have two handles in my coax box so i don't have to change dies often, but then again I buy connectors by the gross. When you aren't crimping coax use the wire crimper dies for ring terminals and splices- they are head and shoulders above the wire crimpers you buy at Lowe's. You can get combo dies in just about any set of diameters. Be forewarned that each connector type and manufacture may have a different spec.

Stay away from single size coax crimpers with fixed dies unless it fits the budget and you don't use them a lot. Once over-tightened and sprung they're worthless. The high-end frames have adjustable stops- one of mine is over 20 years old.

Putting a connector on coax is really two separate functions: Mechanically keeping the coax attached, and minimizing RF loss. Doing both requires dollars, and there are often cheaper ways of doing it. I would put my emphasis on the RF side if you have to make a choice.